We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Glymur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glymur to your Saves list
Hotel Glymur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“Hotel Glymur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Staying at Hotel Glymur was a joy. The staff are extremely friendly, and we were treated like family. The dining experience, in particular, was extraordinary. Hotel Glymur's restaurant is run by a second-generation Scandinavian master chef - Mr Helgi - who is one of the best in the world. It is worth travelling to Iceland just for the privilege of enjoying a meal prepared at the hands of this culinary genius.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    83
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
236
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Glymur for 4 days (3 nights) in Jan 2009. The hotel is in a quiet remote location which was exactly what we wanted. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and curteous, nothing is too much for them. I had numerous questions which I kept asking the hotel via email, each and every question was answered. The food is heavenly. (i would say near to Michelin star level). Would gladly stay there again. We could not fault it (apart from the weather, but you can never rely on that :) )

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

One of the most wonderful trips of our life. Christmas was magical....Northern Lights, phenomenal food, greta friends.

  • Stayed December 2003, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

My wife asked me what I wanted for my <ahem> 50th birthday present. I said, to sit in a hot tub with her, a glass of white wine and to watch the northern lights. Enter Hotel Glymur. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived (it is in the middle of nowhere but quick and easy to find). The room was comfy, the food excellent and indeed we saw the lights. The island is magical, the people incredibly helpful, witty and friendly and the countryside very special ranging from lunar landscapes to green valleys. The daylight when we went was a continuous golden orange. Are we overselling this? Go and find out and stay at the Glymur.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Fantastic staff, super location, just really nice to stay.
The hot top was great and with the northern light it made it an A.

Go there and you will have the time of your life, we will be back!

Patricia and Reinier
Holland

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — none!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Friendly staff, beautifully furnished room, a fantastic view of the fjord (from both the room and the hottub) and great food. Breakfast was impressive, though my favourite remains the chocolate icecream, which was the best I have ever eaten outside of Italy.
The place doesn't come cheap, but it's worth every penny and a great treat for a week-end or as a one-night stopover on a round-trip of the island.

  • Liked — View and food
  • Disliked — If anything the price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

we had seen the Glymur on the web before leaving for Iceland but it didn't fit into our plans, then. but we were badly let down by a summerhouse we had booked and needed somewhere quickly. what luck that the Glymur had space for all 4 of us for 2 nights. it was such a relief to arrive somewhere so warm and welcoming.

from first to last it was everything we needed - lovely large bedrooms, excellent bathrooms, understated luxury in the public rooms, endless tea and coffee, delicious food - particularly appreciated in Iceland where some of the food is not of the highest standard.

It is well placed for visiting Reykjavik and touring the Golden Circle and also for jumping off to other parts of Iceland.

is it worth the money? - yes, definitely. if you're only going to stay in one place in Iceland, stay here.

  • Liked — warm welcome and high standard of accommodation and food.
  • Disliked — rooms too hot at night.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glymur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.