We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glymur to your Saves list
Hotel Glymur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
January & February offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Wien
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Romantic hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed everything - the cosy room, our excellent dinner, the best breakfast buffet in Iceland, attentative service and the perfectly placed hot tubs. It's definitly worth staying here for one or better more nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    71
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
54
208
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in early Feb 2013 for Northern Lights trip. The location of the hotel can't be faulted - on a stunning fjord, just set back from the road. The building is functional in the Icelandic style, and inside well decorated and cosy feeling.

Welcome was warm and service good, if unexceptional, from a rather young team (am I just getting old?).

We had a one level room with a patio looking out over the mountain rather than the fjord, not one of the 2 level rooms on the website. I was slightly disappointed that we had no bath....given the natural hot water in Iceland, I would have liked a soak. The room was well decorated and the tv had both BBC (Northern Ireland) and ITV from the UK which was handy, and a great coffee machine. Bed was v comfy and overall we slept well, although the room was very warm, even with all radiators turned right down, and I am normally really cold blooded.

Breakfast was plentiful and good, with hot and cold options, some pretty standard, some Icelandic.

So, here is the 'constructive' bit :
Restaurant food, while excellent was really expensive.....in many ways this is just an Icelandic thing - it is really pricey to eat out in most places. However, while our food was excellent, portions were small and we were starving.

No bath.....I like a choice of bath/shower, and missed a bath. While we're covering baths, I need to mention the water. I know it's outside of the control of the hotel, but the smell of the hot water is quite something and can only be described as 'eggy' and can come as quite a surprise for the unprepared.

Plumbing is noisy....the flushing of the toilet upstairs sounded like a waterfall in our room.

Overall a good option and a solid hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an arranged tour of Iceland. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, which gives you a great chance to get a good view of the northern lights - if they put an appearance in! The food here was great, and the rooms were quite funky - living area and bathroom downstairs and bedroom up on a mezzanine level, overlooking the lounge below. Two hot-tubs outside which were lovely to relax in after a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Glymur for 5 nights in February. We had a water facing room in the main building and loved the large panoramic windows overlooking the sea.
Service was good and unobtrusive. We signed up to be woken up if the Northern Lights appear and got to see them on one occasion, albeit a fairly limited set.
The layout of the room is nice with the bed on the mezzanine and the double height window.
We tried the two hot tubs provided for the main building but found the thermal water too hot, we couldn't really immerse ourselves without turning bright red like lobsters.
The room only had a shower, no bath tub, it would have been nice to be able to enjoy the thermal water in our bathroom.
The smell of the water is quite strong, but not overpowering.
Breakfast is excellent, great choice and nicely presented.
We ate at the hotel twice, the food was nice, however the choice a bit limited.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Glymur last week (18th to 22nd Jan 2013) for a 4 night break where we were hoping to view the Northern Lights. Read some very good things about this hotel and we were not disappointed.

As it was a very special occasion and I had wanted a truly relaxing and private experience, I booked one of the six villas. We were very lucky as I booked just a few days after Christmas and we got the last one- Villa Couture. These open plan timber frame buildings sit on the hillside in front of the small hotel with stupendous views over Hvalfjordur (Whale fjord) and are only a couple of years old (built in 2010). I can say no more about Villa Couture than to describe my girlfriend's reaction when we walked through the door - "Wow!". The Villa had everything you could wish for. It was modern and spacious, warm with wonderful underfloor heating, clean and of a contemporary but charming design. From the walk in shower to the large well equipped kitchen and the luxuriously relaxing lounge, the place was extremely pleasant. The views are to die for and floor to ceiling windows ensure you get to see them all the time.

The highlight without a shadow of a doubt is the hot tub which is yours alone for the duration of your stay (unlike the hotel hot tubs which you may have to share). We spent many hours relaxing here looking at the stars or the fjord and distant snow capped mountains, listening to the trickle of the small stream alongside our villa with of course a glass or two of bubbly. As with everywhere in Iceland, the water is thermally heated by the Earth itself and stays hot 24 hours a day and needs no preparation. How lovely it was to return from an arduous but exciting hike up to the nearby Glymur falls and sink into the hot tub. (Tip for those attempting this hike- make sure you are well equipped and let the hotel know where you are going and by which route). A fence surrounding the hot tub and decking area ensures complete privacy although there is not much in front to be hidden from. It is very very quiet. You barely see another person or car in this part of Iceland. This was such a treat coming from the UK where we manage to pack 60 million people into an area about the same size as Iceland. During our trip to Geysir and Gulfoss we drove for over an hour without seeing another single vehicle. The roads are just a dream but be careful to watch out for black ice. The snow covered gravel road 48 from Hvalfjordur to Thingvellir was particularly exciting but not somewhere to break down!

The staff at the hotel were excellent from the moment we arrived when we were offered food after our long and delayed journey from UK via Gatwick at 10pm. This seemed to be no trouble at all. Throughout our stay we were treated with courtesy and attention from the friendly but professional staff. Richard was particularly pleasant and took delight in sharing his excellent photos of the Northern Lights with us and giving very good advice about how to photograph this phenomenon. Ragna- keep up the good work! You are running a one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The food was excellent although if you like conventional hotel food then forget it. We were both impressed with the selection on offer. Wine was expensive but this is Iceland after all. When we announced some good news, we received a complimentary personalised congratulations desert dish from the kitchen which was a very nice touch indeed.

There is so much to recommend both Iceland and Hotel Glymur that we intend to return one day. We have to return now as my girlfriend is now my fiancee. The Northern Lights gave us an awe inspiring show right at the moment that I popped the question. She said "Yes" after getting over the shock. I love it when a plan comes together. The Aurora must be one of the most humbling sights to see on the planet and we were both very lucky to get what felt like our own private show. Happy days here. We both said we could live quite happily in our villa...if only!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent two nights in a lovely room. The heated floor in the bathroom makes a big difference and was so warm we could dry our towels and swimmers on the floor. The hot tubs outside were great overlooking the beautiful whale fjord and distant mountains. Service was very good and you weren't pestered. They made the effort to assist and cater on request. Friendly staff made it more enjoyable and to top our stay off we had a brilliant light show from the aurora borealis (not guaranteed). Meals in the hotel were very good and well prepared. We would certainly recommend it to anyone and may return if ever we go back to Iceland.

Room Tip: rooms at the western end are nearest to the hot tubs for quicker access in the cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We must have stayed at Villa Nature after the previous reviewer Grims. Yes to everything he said, though we did not use the hot tub. The weather was not very inviting for that and we did not think it felt very warm, but as we did not try to do anything about it we cannot comment. The food at the Hotel Glymur (pronounced glimmer) was exceptionally good. One tip the villa is called Nature in English but the board name is in Icelandic so make sure you know where you are going, we arrived in the dark and took a bit of time to find our villa. We were there for three nights, and no we did not see the northern lights. We did two outings one to Gulfoss and the geysers, leaving at first light 10 - 10.30 in January, it took about 1 3/4 to get there, but the roads were empty, we drove for an hour before we saw our first car. The other to Borganes on the west coast and the museum and another beautiful waterfall and on our last day on the way to the airport we spent our time in the blue lagoon, loved that.
Hotel Glymur is in the middle of nowhere, but if you hope to see the Northern Lights then you need to be out of town. Also take the tunnel to get to and from Reykjavik, the scenic route is very long.
We went into Reykjavik to the revolving Perlin restaurant which was nice, but the food was not as good as at Glymur. Thank you Ragner for your advice and friendly way you coped with us four noisy ladies!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glymur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.