We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best in Akranes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akranes Hostel

Akranes Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Akranes Hostel to your Saves list
Akranes Hostel
Sudurgata 32, Akranes 300, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancashire England
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“The very best in Akranes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The very best in Akranes

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Akranes look no further than Hostel Akranes.
Hostel Akranes provides very comfortable, clean accommodation with an extremely well equipped kitchen. The rooms are bright and modern with large photographs on the walls taken by a local photographer enhancing the decor. What makes Hostel Akranes extra special is the high level of service provided by Magnus, given with such ease and genial warmth. Magnus readily shares his local knowledge and Icelandic travel advice to enhance your trip. We were made to feel so welcome and I believe the other people staying there did too which made a lovely relaxed homely atmosphere. 5* all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnus O, Owner at Akranes Hostel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mrs. Seasonedtravelgirl

I highly appreciate you taking time to review our Hostel. We have put a lot of effort in refurbishing the house to make it as convenient for our guest as possible. It is nice to experience that we are on the right track there. I thank you for mentioning my contribution sharing information about what to do and why. I have enjoyed visiting most of the interesting sites in Akranes and surrounding’s and I know from a personal experience when travelling my self that most often, local info, does put some spice on everyone’s travel.
So, more than welcome, it was nice to host you, your husband and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the best accommodation we stayed in for our two week holiday in Iceland. Large comfortable bedrooms, immaculate bathrooms and two kitchens. Plenty of lovely sun drenched sitting areas.
Host is helpful and friendly. The position is excellent, close to beach and restaurants and supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Akranes Hostel. Such a great place to relax and plan trips to Snaefellsnes or the golden circle! Very nice hostel, clean rooms, comfortable living-room and best kitchens we've seen in Hostels. Over all very friendly staff knowing how to help in planning individual trips, everytime with a smile:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Probably the best value we found in iceland. Made a great home base for the end of our trip. Conveniently located in Akranes, near pool/hot tub/sauna facilities, as well as bakeries, museums, restaurants, grocery stores, and other sight seeing opportunities, all in lovely walking distance. As opposed to Reykjavik, Akranes has a more comfy feel. Plenty to wander about for a couple days. Plus, the resident hostel everything, Nina, was extremely helpful locating destinations in town, suggesting things to check out, on top of being gracious about our personal antics. As we extended our stay, rooms were immacuatley maintained, and ready before we were. Stay here, if you can, but reserve your spot ahead of time, else you might end up camping.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehuacan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, nice and confortable rooms. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here one night and found the hostel very clean and friendly. All you need is here for cooking washing and relaxing but apart frorm the bakery which is nearby its a bit short on convience shop nr by if your are needing to stock up, but saying that its not a big town really. It can be a bit tricky to find when arriving although if you head towards the harbour area then go slightly in from there you should find it nr the bakery. Take a stroll down to the lighthouse if you have time and look back toward the town with its backdrop of dramatic mountain. The town is a fishing town like most so has a busy harbour but also widely spaced clean residential streets around with typical icelandic colourful houses nr by. Prob slightly of the beaten path but good to see another side to Iceland if slightly northern exposure like ! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We experienced a high degree of comfort and hospitality in Iceland, but this was one of the very best. We strongly recommend it, and would have no hesitation in arranging to come and stay here another time. It is central but quiet, and there is a lovely atmosphere inside. As well as very well-equipped kitchens and a cheerful, light dining area, there is an incredibly comfortable wood-panelled sitting room up in the roof space. The place was spotlessly clean, and is obviously looked after with great pride. The young lady in charge welcomed us by name (!), gave us good advice, and was most friendly and caring.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akranes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akranes Hostel

Address: Sudurgata 32, Akranes 300, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Akranes Hostel is situated in an old and respectable house. The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished, with or without en-suite facilities. Our guests have access to two fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and a spacious lounge. Akranes has a diverse and friendly community, thriving sports life, and is close to both the capital area and the historically rich areas of West Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Akranes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akranes Hostel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akranes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.