We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean to your Saves list
The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean
Bakkatun 20, Akranes IS-300, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Akranes B&B and Inns
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent our first night here. Johanna and her husband are very warm-hearted, she told us a lot about the country, her children and recommends us a good restaurants for the evening (Galito) 10 minutes walk from the guesthouse and the dos and dont's on Iceland ;-)
We had a nice room with a double-bed, it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The nice thing about "The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean" is the warm welcome and quiet, central setting in Akranes. But the real clincher is the bedding: featherlight but soft, light covers and excellent mattress gives the traveler a wonderful rest. The room is on the ground floor, a little lower than street level but plenty of light is streaming in through the two large windows. There is a kitchen and bathroom for the various guest's use and all is well there. The owner is very helpful in making you find the stuff you might need in Akranes. Finally the price is very reasonable at 16.000 ISK for two, including a crib for a baby. Note the owner requires cash payment of the lodging fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The owners were very pleasant and easy to work with. They genuinely care about the needs of their guests. Sweet little house in a beautiful little city with a view. I would recommend staying here! A warm welcome for folks from Orlando, Florida!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our host was the only person we saw in Akranes! Such a sleepy town.
The accomodation is annexed off in the basement (don't worry it has windows!) and is a complete apartment. We were the only people staying so we had a choice of all three rooms. There is a fully functional kitchen with hob, oven, fridge, and sink. The host was kind and helpful, and the wifi was great.
As the name would suggest it's right next to the ocean, and if the tide is out it's a fantastic beach to go and sit for the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

In July this year our family of 6 (ages16, 20, 22, 26, 52, 57) had the holiday of a lifetime in Iceland. Our accommodation was in a little guest house right on the harbour in Arkranes. We had a view across the indigo ocean and 3 clean, cosy bedrooms with a bathroom, laundry facilities and kitchenette. Having our own cooking facilities meant that we were able to prepare meals and make picnics which saved money with a big family. We were witihin walking distance of food shops and cafes and the town provided a good base to set out in many different directions to explore the breathtaking countryside. The house has a large back garden and clothes line, so we were able to peg out the clothes then lie on the grass with a book and relax in the sun - yes t-shirt weather! Our landlady took time to discuss aspects of Icelandic history and economic development with us and to suggest sights that we should not miss. We felt very much at home and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The accommodation was ideal for a large family like ours. The shared bathroom was no bother.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This guest house is the basement of Johana's home where she has 3 rooms that all share 1 bathroom plus a small kitchen for guests to use. You'll definitely need a car to get here and get around but once here you'll definitely enjoy it. Johana is quite friendly and helpful at pointing you places you'd never see without her help (like the public baths). The only drawback was the 1 shared bathroom for the three rooms - there was only 1 shower and it was connected to the bathroom so if someone was showering there isn't a toilet available. Given that we had 2 of the 3 rooms when we stayed there it wasn't much of an issue.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I travelled recently with my brother through Iceland and had the chance to stay at this cozy guesthouse for 1 night. Johana gave us a very warmth welcoming. She explained us about the region and recommended us nice things to do or see...We had nice talks about traveling and funny anecdotes that come with traveling.. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is even a kitchen and a bathroom to share with other guests. Very Good rate quality/price

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean

Address: Bakkatun 20, Akranes IS-300, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Akranes
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Guesthouse By The Ocean Iceland/Akranes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Guesthouse by the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.