We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sussex Couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Tree Gardens

Save Saved
You added Citrus Tree Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citrus Tree Gardens
Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sussex Couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have just returned from 2 weeks @ C.T.G. - lives up to its name with attractive gardens full of lemon, lime & pomegranite trees, surrounding a spotlessly clean pool, serviced daily. We had a 2-storey villa, overlooking the pool, with a mezzanine sleeping area. Very clean & functional - only a shower room, but perfectly adequate.Water heater/cooler in kitchenette very useful - changed when necessary. Rooms cleaned daily, linen changed every 3 days, pool towels provided. We booked 1/2 board, but found the food very dull & uninteresting - chicken soup night after night! Followed on many occasions by, guess what? Yes - chicken; roasted, in a sauce, casseroled, stewed, and always with chips & salad. Also on the menu was liver & onions, fish & chips, sausages, omelettes & always with chips & salad. We would have really enjoyed some local dishes. Likewise, the breakfasts were just O.K. With a few tweaks here and there things could be vastly improved, like the dining room having nice table linen in the evenings, perhaps a candle or flower on the table, perhaps a wine glass and laid cutlery and soft lighting and music?
Having said all that we would like to say the staff @ C.T.G were superb, Verdat, Ishmail, & Lesley - nothing was too much trouble. Also the little cats were gorgeous!!!!

P.S. Would recomend car hire - though Dolmus (local bus) very easy & cheap to use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second stay at the C.T.G this year and have booked for April 2013 and making enquiries for a month in Sept/Oct 2013.
It's a fab hotel with staff who can't do enough for you.We went half board and enjoyed the food both at breakfast and evening meal, the food is hot and tasty with a wide choice for breakfast of cereal,eggs any way you want them from boiled to scrambled to omelettes , there's also cheese,toast,various jams cucumber ,cooked meats tomato's ,Heinz beans and of corse fresh fruit juice ,tea and coffee all on a help your self basis , i feel hungry just writting about it.
Tea time is also good with soup to start , the main meal is a choice of two meals which the chef puts on a board each day out side of the restaurant ,they are excelent , then there is the desert, the chefs special which varies from delicious puddings to Turkish surprises, we allways have a glass of wine with our meal but you can order what you like and it will be brought to your table .
The room that we stayed in was great, it was over looking the swimming pool first floor with a large balcony ,table and two chairs, ideal to relax ,have a drink and forget all your worries.
The actual room is spacious with a double or two single beds, a large wardrobe and a rack to put your cases on and its carpeted which is nice when you get up to go the loo and the floor is not freezeing ,off this room is the bathroom with WC,shower and wash basin .
Towels and bedding are changed every 3 days and towels are also provided at the pool along with ample sun loungers.You have a bar and dinning area out side that serves early to dark for those who want a bite to eat and drink and why not , you are on holiday, well that covers most things about the hotel so now you can venture out and explore,Mustafa the owner has a great deal on car hire and it's driving onthe left as in England so have a go ,you will be surprised what you will discover with in a few miles of the hotel. The town of Kyrenia is only 30mins away on the Dolmus(public transport).which takes you right into the town center,i for got to say that the beach and there is lots of it , is clean sun beds are plentyful some parts charge but its only pennies .
As you can see by this feed back that both my wife and i love it here and hope to return for many years to come, thanks to ALL the staff and Mustafa who made our holiday conplete.

bernard & rose N/Wales

Room Tip: Rooms looking on to the swimming pool are a good choice, costs a little more but well worth it. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were picked up from LCA by the owners driver who gave us a running commentary on the trip to the Citrus Tree Gardens hotel at Alcancak N Cyprus.
32 degr C on arrival.
On arrival we met Mustafa the owner who welcomed us and asked us to have a (complimentary)
drink with him and relax after our journey whilst our cases were taken to our room.
The owner and staff work constantly to make your holiday a relaxing and friendly one.
We only booked the room and breakfast but found ourselves enjoying the evening meals at Citrus Tree as much as going to the myriad of restaurants within a few miles of the hotel.
We had a hired car as we wanted to visit other places on the island but the local buses like 10 seater school buses are quite adequate for local trips and very reasonable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been going to the Citrus tree gardens for the past 11 years , I travel with my 2 daughters and husband and this place seem to make us want to return year after year, I am a travel agent and we are very well travelled but in our opinion nothing in Europe has come close to this place .. So where do i begin, Over the years mustafa, Lesley, Izmal and Vedat have become like family to us , they always give all there customers whether you have been there once or 50 times the most warmest welcome and if you are previous guests they will remember you.
They have 2, 2 bed villas which are suitable if you are going with your family or they have 1 bed villas or studios if you are travelling as a couple , which ever room you decide to stay in they all have a view of the lovely swimming pool.
In each room there is a water cooler system which gives you instant hot or cold water this is an extra charge payable locally but i can honestly say well worth the charge as the water is unlimited and when your bottle is empty the staff will replace it with a new one.The rooms are cleaned daily and each have an air conditioning unit and if you decide to visit in the winter months some have heating in them .
Each room has a patio or balcony with their own table and chairs on and a clothes airer.

If you are into sport then they have Billys bar which shows all the latest sport on big screens, this doesnt affect other guests who doesnt like sport as Billys bar is beneath the reception area.
The hotel has beautiful gardens with lovely flowers , citrus and pomegranate trees which are kept very well maintained by the gardener, infact my husband loves to take phtographs of the gardens.
We always book b&b as we like to eat out in the evening but a half board option is available if prefered, Breakfast is suitable for all and is of a buffet style, they have a lunch time menu and also an evening menu and the food is always very fresh and well presented , in fact the owner ownes a farm and he uses some of his own produce in the menu.
If you are looking for a place with lots of entertainment and nightlife then this really isnt the place for you, but if you are looking for peace and quiet then you may have just found what you are looking for , One of my pet hates whilst on holiday is having to get up at 6am and put your towels on the beds around the pool to reserve them , this doesnt happen here there is always plenty of room for all guests around the pool area ( I always go in August when it is at its busiest ).
There is a choice of beaches nearby but we like Sunset beach as they have a fresh salt water pool which is lovely on a baking hot August dayand they have decking and a patio rather than sand which can be to hot for the old feet.
Car hire is recommended here on the island if you want to exlpore what the island has to offer then you can hire your car from the hotel at very competitive rates .
One thing i would like to add is that i have seen a review on here from somebody who went to the hotel in December and was very unhappy... Cyprus is not a winter sun desination the climate can be very wet and cold so do not go during this time if you are looking for the sun.
Im sure that we will continue to visit this hotel an many years to come
Thank you to mustafa and the staff for such wonderful holidays

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn norfolk
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our second visit to this excellent hotel complex and again a great holiday . Mustafa ,and all his staff really make you feel special, nothing is too much trouble for them . The villas are clean and comfortable , the pool area is also clean with plenty of loungers and fresh free pool towels . The breakfast room is clean and bright with a substantial buffet breakfast with any special requests quickly cooked for you . We had our evening meals in the hotel and they were good , freshly cooked and good portions although they were English style meals it would have been nice to have some Turkish style meals on the menu too . Many of the guests were return visitors and we even met two couples who we remembered from our last visit two years ago . We really enjoyed our relaxing holiday and can thoroughly recommend Citrus Tree Gardens to anyone who wants good value and a excellent base to explore North Cyprus . Mustafa also does car hire at very reasonable rates . We are looking forward to our next visit to this excellent hotel next year .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We`ve just come back from Citrus Tree Gardens staying there from September 16th until October 4th 2012 and can honestly say we have had another fabulous holiday there. Its been our third year in a row there and quite frankly we have no intention of looking anywhere else to stay as it is like meeting up again with distant family and friends. Mustafa and the staff are all great and super helpful and nothing is too much trouble and lots of the guests are repeat bookers so its great to catch with old friends again.We always stay on bed and breakfast as the breakfast has an excellent choice of foods and the eggs are collected fresh from Mustafa`s farm every day, the poached eggs on toast are the best I`ve ever tasted. Since last year Mustafa has converted 6 of the chalet bungalows into 2 storey single room appartments that at first we were a bit dubious about but after having a look inside an upstairs one we were so impressed with the finish we asked if it would be possible to change from our chalet villa into one. As usual ,nothing was too much trouble and we had the last 5 nights of our holiday in an upstairs "villa room" The weather in late September is much nicer than June when we usually go as the evening temp drops to about 22-24 degrees with the daytime temp still up in the low 30`s . Coming later in the year all the fruit on the trees were nearly ripe and the grounds had the wonderfull scent of citrus drifting about all day long. The cleaning staff were about every day and we lost count at the number of times our towels and sheets were changed during our stay and fresh pool towels were put out every morning. All in all it is the best place to stay and have a relaxing holiday and meet new friends, you will come with a load of new phone numbers in your diary. If you like loud music, neon lights everywhere, Starbucks, KFC etc, don`t go to Northern Cyprus. If you want to relax and be with friendly welcoming locals in a country where crime is virtually non existent then Northern Cyprus is worth a try.

Room Tip: British Airways Heathrow to Larnaca and then the hotel taxi pick up is definately good value and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked a week away at the citrus tree gardens in september after reading the reviews.When we arrived late evening we were offered a hot meal which was nice and much appreciated(omlette and chips and a cold beer) very nice after a long journey.Our room was in the main building of the hotel which faces the road(this was the only down side of our stay as the road is busy and traffic noise can be heard day and night but this did not stop us sleeping I addvise asking for a bugalow room in the grounds at the rear).The room was clean and tidy,the air conditioning was much appreciated it kept the room lovely and cool and the water system installed for hot and cold drinks is well worth the 20 lira charge per week.The bed linen was changed twice in the week while we were there which was great.Mustafa and staff could not be more helpfull or friendly nothing is to much trouble be it car hire transport ,where to eat places to visit etc. The pool area is very nice clean and tidy with plenty of clean towels and sun loungers.The local dolmus buses are very good too hop on and off where you want just put your hand out and they stop they even reverse and wait for you if they see you coming from a side road(if only in england!)All in all I would recommend staying at this hotel just make sure you ask for a bungalow room

Room Tip: Request a bungalow room if possible as main rooms at front of hotel suffer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citrus Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Gardens

Address: Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Citrus Tree Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Gardens Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Citrus Tree Gardens Kyrenia
Citrus Tree Gardens Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Tree Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.