We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hotel, great staff !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merit Crystal Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merit Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Merit Crystal Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great Hotel, great staff !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited Merit Hotel last year, two times. The first time in mid-June and again in mid-August. We had fantastic time both times. Great location, pool, gardens,beach, everything.
The facilities are excellent, albeit the rooms are a little basic than some of the more expensive hotels,but they have everything you need.
Fantastic service and friendly feel to the hotel. The staff is fantastic, they are all more than friendly, always there when you need it.
Food was amazing!By far the best food we've eaten in a five star hotel.
Plus in this hotel is casino which was a lot of fun.
I will strongly recommend this hotel to other people. It is good for all types of travelers. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    38
    17
    8
    13
See reviews for
42
76
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The resort is In a beautiful location with a great pool and beautiful beach. The people who run the place are amazing. The room was clean, comfy bed, but very little storage and some of the fixtures are a little tired. A little fresh paint and new bathroom fixtures would go a long way. Not luxury, but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

my wife & I arrived at the merit CC and proceeded to check-in with customer service who just stared at us until we initiated communication. no hello or merhaba or welcome. they "supposedly" had issues with our reservation. then told us that they had no room for us and that we never had a reservation.....even though the manager was holding a print out of our reservation in her hand. we also had an email confirmation. the place stunk of cigaretts and the service reps never even apoligized for the huge failure. i do not recommend this hotel to inter-racial couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in february and I can honestly rate it excellent.
One of the first things you're gonna like is the main buffet which were abundant of delicious food. Not a single complain about the restaurant and the staff there - just perfect.
The rooms are pretty nice - comfortable beds, nice bath and you have everything you need, including a nice view to the mountain and the sea.
They offer a nice spa where you can enjoy a steam room and sauna with a cold water jacuzzi. You can also use the gym which is pretty nice and reasonable (there's also a boxing bag for the enthusiasts).
The Internet in some rooms is not available or it's too slow and stops very often. (But not all the rooms!) Anyway you can use the WiFi in the lobby.
There's just one thing that was a little annoying - the electricity suspensions. Almost every evening (or afternoon) the electicity was stopped for a period between 5 - 35 mins. And depending on what you do it's not always fun. But it's ok, abyway it wasn't happening for hours. :)

As a conclusion, I can highly recommend the hotel: for the good food, the sea and the mountain relax, the gambling opportunities in the casino and the nice views you can share with a loved one and/or a good drink. What else can you need?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissonerga, Paphos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room was lovely and spacious and very clean with a view of both the mountains and the sea. One small complaint is that no bathrobes are supplied, although the towels and toiletries are very good. This hotel offers 2 a la carte restaurants as well as the main buffet and the food was very good. You must try the 6th floor chinese which is amazing.
With regard to the buffet restaurant the staff could do with a little more training, as if you left your table for a second to fetch a drink or further food the table was cleared - even if you had a full plate of food or drinks on the table. A Mairtre De is not in situ and therefore nobody is taking overall control of the waiting staff.
We were staying on an "all inclusive" basis and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of everything and the added bonus was that we didn't have to wear a wrist band!!!!
I would recommend this hotel as we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. From the rooms, food, and casino, not to mention the oceanfront location. Very nice to look out of your room and see the beautiful blue waters of the ocean. Also a very friendly staff. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't a have a bad word to say about this hotel, having spent 2 weeks here in October. The room we had was superb on the first floor overlooking the pool and sea it was a refurbished room and was large and of a very high standard. The food was always beautifully presented and the choice was huge with helpful and friendly staff always available.

The hotel is used mainly by Turkish visitors from the main land who use the casino a fair amount, in the main I would say they were affluent and discerning Turks so I think if it works for them it works for me. I don't go on holiday to be surrounded by Brits and way English food, might as well stay at home, having said that we met some lovely British couples during our stay.

There is a courtesy bus into Kyrenia several times a day which works well, if its your first time to Northern Cyprus its probably a good idea to hire a car for part of your stay and get out and about a bit.

The hotel is all inclusive and that is exactly what it says you leave without having to spend a single penny other than some well deserved tips for the staff. The food is unlimited and the drinks are also unlimited and without restriction. Is there any thing wrong with the Merit, well not really it is a happy good quality and excellent value for money hotel I recommend it to you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merit Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Crystal Cove

Address: Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merit Crystal Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being located on one of the most beautiful bays of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus thatstretches to the bright waters of Eastern Mediterranean, Merit Crystal Cove Hotel is located 10km to the city center and 45 km to Ercan Airport right next to the sea where blue and greenembrace each other ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merit Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Crystal Cove Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Merit Crystal Cove Kyrenia
Merit Crystal Cove Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merit Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.