We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merit Crystal Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Merit Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Merit Crystal Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Kissonerga, Paphos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room was lovely and spacious and very clean with a view of both the mountains and the sea. One small complaint is that no bathrobes are supplied, although the towels and toiletries are very good. This hotel offers 2 a la carte restaurants as well as the main buffet and the food was very good. You must try the 6th floor chinese which is amazing.
With regard to the buffet restaurant the staff could do with a little more training, as if you left your table for a second to fetch a drink or further food the table was cleared - even if you had a full plate of food or drinks on the table. A Mairtre De is not in situ and therefore nobody is taking overall control of the waiting staff.
We were staying on an "all inclusive" basis and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of everything and the added bonus was that we didn't have to wear a wrist band!!!!
I would recommend this hotel as we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    13
    6
    13
See reviews for
37
66
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. From the rooms, food, and casino, not to mention the oceanfront location. Very nice to look out of your room and see the beautiful blue waters of the ocean. Also a very friendly staff. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't a have a bad word to say about this hotel, having spent 2 weeks here in October. The room we had was superb on the first floor overlooking the pool and sea it was a refurbished room and was large and of a very high standard. The food was always beautifully presented and the choice was huge with helpful and friendly staff always available.

The hotel is used mainly by Turkish visitors from the main land who use the casino a fair amount, in the main I would say they were affluent and discerning Turks so I think if it works for them it works for me. I don't go on holiday to be surrounded by Brits and way English food, might as well stay at home, having said that we met some lovely British couples during our stay.

There is a courtesy bus into Kyrenia several times a day which works well, if its your first time to Northern Cyprus its probably a good idea to hire a car for part of your stay and get out and about a bit.

The hotel is all inclusive and that is exactly what it says you leave without having to spend a single penny other than some well deserved tips for the staff. The food is unlimited and the drinks are also unlimited and without restriction. Is there any thing wrong with the Merit, well not really it is a happy good quality and excellent value for money hotel I recommend it to you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only problem with the room which is worn-out furniture, dırty curtains and carpets. sea is very beautiful. meals were good. According to the structure of this room is a bit pricey. the service is good. the staff were polite. but i dont stay one more time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. We have stayed at a few hotels in Northern Cyprus and decided to try the Merit for a change. We found it to be very good value, generally very clean, good food, spacious and relaxing. We tried 2 of the restaurants as a change to the buffet and these were good with great service. Overall we found the service in the buffet and bar to be fine and the low key entertainment (group or singer) was also quite good. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size. Our room wasn't cleaned one day when we returned at about 16:30 but this was sorted when we called reception. We went to the casino most days and had some wins on the automated roulette table and slots. We would certainly go back to the Merit again.

Room Tip: We were given a room with a lovely pool and sea view. It was on the 2nd floor near the lift and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

i used to come to this hotel every summer for 3 or 4 days but last year i have moved to P.A U.S so i was thinking if i'm able to come merit crystal cove this summer. After a 16 hrs flight and at this moment i am writing this comment from my room at merit hotel . İ noticed some improvements going on like a new building still under construction near the hotel . Foods are excellent as usual, staff members is nice and polite, rooms need to be renewed at least the one i'm staying right now, there is an engine voice, i'm hearing like a generator or something outside my room, it's not stopping. Overall if you don't care about voice and old furnitures at the rooms the rest of the hotel services are really good. And i will come again next year because i know they will make it better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the best hotels we have stayed at in either the north or the south of the south of the island. Food, always a good variety and different dishes available including Chinese and Indian. Some nights are themed with food from the country, such as Mexico. Evening entertainment always a group and a singer, not much on for children or teens. Very few English people, mainly Italian and Turkish with lots of children but as it never seemed crowded it was easy to find a quiet spot. The private beach is excellent, very sandy and the water is pretty clear and only waist deep for quite a distance from the shore. The staff are great, we were well looked after but it is noticeable that their are some very very rich people staying, especially when the poker series is on and they do get quicker service from some staff. I would say this is a great hotel if you want as a couple to get away from it all and have a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter and have a breeze on the balcony in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merit Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Crystal Cove

Address: Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Merit Crystal Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being located on one of the most beautiful bays of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus thatstretches to the bright waters of Eastern Mediterranean, Merit Crystal Cove Hotel is located 10km to the city center and 45 km to Ercan Airport right next to the sea where blue and greenembrace each other ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Merit Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Crystal Cove Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Merit Crystal Cove Kyrenia
Merit Crystal Cove Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merit Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.