We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun and Quiet times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Garden Resort to your Saves list
Riverside Garden Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mersin 10 TR | Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family fun and Quiet times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been to Riverside for the last 10 years. The staff are always very helpful from the moment we arrive. Accomodation is always clean and in good working order. The children love the swimming pools and have lots of fun, but if you want to swim quietly there is an adult area for this too. Breakfast offers a full selection of turkish and contintental choices, and food during the day is excellent and well priced at the pool bar (waiters are always attentive and fun without imposing). Evening meals offer a full range of meats and mezes to choose from, as well as the excellent poolside bbq and belly dancing nights. The fact we keep coming year after year is testament to the quality service and accomodation on offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    176
    105
    56
    28
See reviews for
156
237
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel complex with 3 swimming pools and size has meant not been crowded (in early April anyway). Varied buffet breakfasts and evening dinners. Staff courteous and willing to meet your requirements where they can. However a bit out of the way if you want to be in the centre of things. The accommodation - stayed in one of the small villas - is three star. Shower not really adequate and have to turn on the hot water and wait a bit before you have hot water. All in all I think about right considering what I paid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Older reviews pretty poor about this resort but new set of reviews in Feb perhaps a bit over the top! Riverside is laid back, "oldy worldy" and a bit dated -just like N.Cyprus in fact.My husband and I have been returning there for many years and will continue to do so.The reviews are right -there are simply loads of people who keep going back like us-must be something pretty good about it!
.We like the friendly atmosphere,the nice family who own it,the brille 3 pools(including adult only),the lovely beach which the bus goes to daily,good restaurants nearby(typically ethnic- Achmeyna)),courtesy buses into town, cheap car hire on site incl.transfers,the shop on site selling most things,overnight laundry -I could go on.and on
RIVERSIDE is situated outside of Kyrenia so if you don't like walking or busing(by cheap dolmus)then hire a car-recommended since there are wonderful places to see(esp.Karpas Peninsula)
Accomodation probably 3 star and a bit dated and I agree some of it is better than others-but it. is Northern Cyprus.By staying in a place like this you get a real feel for the country in my view-reminds us of the villas we stayed in for years on Greek Islands

Room Tip: ROOM 112 AND 113at back of restaurant -peaceful and good views from balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I go there every year Infact sometimes twice, excellent value for money staff are verry helpful and attentive. Suitable for families and couples vacation! Had a great time overall especially in the resorts own ranch bar lovely people and entertainment. I would recommend riverside resort to anyone :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Back again to this lovely resort which is clean and well kept. The staff are polite and very helpful. The facilities are also very good, especially if you have children with the lovely pool. The small shop is also a useful feature. Going to the nearby beach is no problem as the mini bus goes daily free from the hotel, or you can go to town. Fab. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have visited this resort 8 times over the last 10 years and will keep going back. We have always found the resort clean and tidy. The staff on reception are excellent and always happy to help with anything you need - all you have to do is ask. We often bump into people like us that have been returning to the Riverside year after year - so you don't just have to take my work for it - this is an excellent place to stay and relax. I would also recommend this hotel for families with young children. Dave & Eileen - Aycliffe Village

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

wow!!!!! a jewel found in north cyprus i want to share with people who are planning holidays in beautiful north cyprus. i have just recently travelled there with my family we planned for 2 weeks holidays and were on a budget we had decided to stay at the riverside garden resort. to our amazment we find riverside is a place for all ages to stay rest and play.
staff there is well trained and very friendly and its run by very hospitable turkish family that live on site to attend to their guests every need. the rooms are kept very clean and tidy and their gardens are amazing to walk thru and the scent of rose and jasmin trees are heaven on earth.
we found the meals that was cooked and served fresh and tasty.
the advertising for this resort on the web site doesn't do it justice you have to go there to see how amazing this place is.
as im writing this review of riverside i am transformed back there where we had memorable holiday moments and can't wait to get back to riverside to create more memorable holidays

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Garden Resort

Address: Mersin 10 TR | Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Holiday Village of Northern Cyprus is set in the beautiful tranquil foothills of Kyrenia in a perfect setting of some of the most spectacular gardens ever to be seen in North Cyprus. Like most cyprus hotels all rooms are air-conditioned and have a fresh water swimming pool and indoor swimming pool and a fantastic aqua park, sauna and a massage parlor. Outdoor facilities include horse riding and tennis courts. Unlike some other cyprus hotels, baby sitting services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riverside Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Riverside Holiday Village Kyrenia
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Riverside Garden Resort Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.