We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwinding at Riverside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Garden Resort to your Saves list
Riverside Garden Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mersin 10 TR | Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unwinding at Riverside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our tickets are booked and accommadation sorted. We have been coming here for several years and have always been greeted by the owners family and staff there are several types of villas all set in beautiful gardens and walkways.3 great swimming pools which are cleaned every single day and sun beds are plentiful.the villas have a daily maid service ,beds are changed every two days and towels daily.sometimes you may find minimum cutlery and crockery but if you ask for anything you will probably have it in your room by the end of the day.riverside offers a very competitive car rental service with good rates if you do not hire a car then a courtesy bus can take you inti nearby Kyrenia or to a nearby beach were sun beds are free for residents of Riverside.A buffet style breakfast is provided at a small fee and if you find nothing you like if you ask the staff they will do there best to find something for you.By the pool there is a friendly small restaurant which is open all day and night but if you prefer the large restaurant across the road you have this option.the restaurant is set high up overlooking the local village of Alsankak and in the daytime a panoramic view of the surrounding area on a clear day the outline of mainland Turkey can be seen. enjoy what Riverside have to offer but also enjoy the local beauty spots and restaurants Kyrenia harbour being a must at evening time.we are looking forward to another relaxing holiday this time for a month looking forward to seeing our wonderful friends and the family. Roll on August

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    174
    104
    56
    27
See reviews for
155
236
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well flights and accommadation are booked for yet another holiday to Riveside so that alone should say how much we enjoyed our holiday. Fantastic family and staff who are always friendly,polite and very helpful.Car hire is available and recommened as this will enable you to get around the island and to visit the many beautiful beaches and restuarants.There is also a courtsey bus which will take you to the designated beach where you get free sunbeds as you are staying at Riverside and also takes you into Kyrenia for a walk around the beautiful harbour. Buffet style breakfast is available but if you are wanting something a little more then the staff are more than willing to get it if possible(usually at a small cost extra).The accommadation is fantastic for a holiday,always kept clean with clean towels everyday when the appartment is cleaned and beds being changed every other day. If you are missing anything from the room the staff are always willing to get it for you( from cutlery to patio chairs).Three fantastic swimming pools for all ages from the fun pool for childen to the adult pool for just adults. They are cleaned everyday and ALL the paths around the complex are swept and hosed down early every morning.Food available by the pool day and night and also at the restuarant. Our family varies in age from 9 to 70 years old and all of us thoroughly enjoy coming here. So roll on August!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our 7th trip to The Riverside and certainly not our last. A very well laid out and clean resort which will appeal to everyone. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The pools are excellent with great slides for the kids to enjoy and good facilities close to hand. Car hire is very reasonable if you feel the need to venture further afield. Lapta and Kyrenia are both close by. The rooms are basic but are kept very clean with fresh linen provided daily. A great base but you do need to explore this fantasic island. Kyrenia, Bellapais, Nicosia, Famagusta and the Karpaz are well worth the visit. Looking forward to returning this August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have spent many happy holidays at riverside, staff very friendly and helpful. Have recommended to family and friends, whom have visited and would return. Always enjoyed the food at restaurant and poolside. Accommodation always clean and tidy.
Overall excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near poolside, especially if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I highly recommend Riverside Garden Resort for the location, reasonable rates, friendly service and absolutely beautiful gardens with flowers and citrus trees. The layout is gorgeous enough to have a destination wedding there and we are returning for the 4th time next month to get married.
I would not want to stay anywhere else when I visit Cyprus. It is our home away from home. Quiet, peaceful and very relaxing.
The rooms are spacious and when we needed more utensils, pots or pans all we had to do was asked and it was brought to us.
The food is delicious and the service very professional, meticulous and friendly. Riverside has demonstrated to me that they care to make our stay enjoyable again and again.
Our villa had a lovely view.
I like the convenience to chose and book tours. There is a super market about 20 min walking distance we shopped at when we wanted to cook for ourselves and a small shop at the resort within minutes for basic needs.
Our experience has been positive and we feel very comfortable there. There are plenty of activities all around the area and sightseeing is a delight and easy to get to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

7 years ago I went to this hotel enjoyed it so much I have been back every year since like everywhere you go things change over the years some good some not so good Riverside is a nice friendly hotel with all staff being very helpful I run my own cleaning business so cleanliness is important to me rooms are nice Kitchen has no microwave or toaster in but I ask for a toaster before I go and it’s no trouble , clean fresh towels daily beds comfortable nothing is too much trouble you only have to ask. It has 3 pools 1 adults pool 1 mixed pool and 1 children’s pool with fun slides all are surrounded with sun bed and sun shades these are wiped and cleaned early every morning. There is a A la carte restaurant by the pool new for last year food was hot fresh and good value you also have the main restaurant a short walk from the road .what I like about it its quiet and relaxing kyrenia is a short drive away with lots of nice shops and places to eat you must try the Turkish ice cream Hotel has a courtesy bus to kyrenia 20 min and a local beach 10 min with free sun beds Car hire is a option to go see some amazing sights the drive to pan handle is 3 hrs away passing the monastery too but well worth it my best for last year was More locally St Hillarion Castle is worth the trek, well over 400 steps view from the top was out of this world my aim for this year is to paraglide down the mountains like 105 yr old Peggy mcalpine the guiness world record holder of the oldest person ride a paragliding at the age of 104.last tue.oct30 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Riverside holiday village is truely ideal for families with children because of pool facilities. However, also ideal for couples also as its an excellent spot for resting and relaxation (adults only pool). Food is freshly cooked with lots of vegeterian options. Rooms could do with some refurbishment however, kept clean and bedsheets and towels changed daily. Staff happy and helpful. We have stayed here in 2011 and 2012. Would like to return this year with more family. I also loved the fact that the Cypriot culture is expressed throughout the resort. I absolutely love the trees and flowers which surround the resort. I practised my yoga and meditated in lovely energy. Last year I tried a massage after the sauna (extra charge ofcourse) and was fantastic!!!. All inclusive or full board options could provide customers to choose and accomodate in different options.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the restaurant are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Garden Resort

Address: Mersin 10 TR | Alsancak, Alsancak - Karavas, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Holiday Village of Northern Cyprus is set in the beautiful tranquil foothills of Kyrenia in a perfect setting of some of the most spectacular gardens ever to be seen in North Cyprus. Like most cyprus hotels all rooms are air-conditioned and have a fresh water swimming pool and indoor swimming pool and a fantastic aqua park, sauna and a massage parlor. Outdoor facilities include horse riding and tennis courts. Unlike some other cyprus hotels, baby sitting services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riverside Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Riverside Holiday Village Kyrenia
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Riverside Garden Resort Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.