We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view, nice room, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denizkizi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Denizkizi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denizkizi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PK 230 Dumlupinar Sokak, Alsancak - Karavas 10, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisbon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderfull view, nice room, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My room had one of the best views ever, I stayed in a corner room, that has two walls of glass facing the sea, so every morning when I woke up was just like being in a boat on the sea! Awsome! The hotel has a very nice sandy beach with lots of sunbeds. I have read that some gests had problems on weekends but, as I stayed on week days, I must say I had a wonderful time and found it very quiet and relaxing. Pool was ok but with such a beach who needs it?
The downside of the hotel was the service. Staff at reception didn't seem to know what they had to do and I had to wait for almost an hour to check in. Also breakfast was very poor. Ten minute before buffet closing waiters start, with very bad manners I must say, to take food away so if you stay in bed too long you might be faced with nothing to eat at all!
About location it is a bit far from Kyrenia, what can be an advantage if you have a car because you get to be on a quiet beach away from town and still be close enough (like a ten minute drive).
Overall I had a good time at this hotel. I just think that a litle improvement on service is needed.

Room Tip: Choose corner room at the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Ullises,

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback about our hotel. It was delightful to hear that you have enjoyed your corner room. We have refurbished Denizkizi Hotel in a way to enhance our guests's beachfront holiday experience and it is great that in your case the room has served this very purpose.

It is very disappointing to read that you found some aspects of our service unsatisfactory. As the whole Denizkizi team it is our number one priority to offer exceptional service and to ensure that every single guest leaves our hotel satisfied. Therefore, you can be assured that all your comments will be discussed with relevant teams to prevent any further issues like the ones you have pointed out with respect to staff knowledge and courtesy.

I sincerely hope that you do return to Denizkizi and we will all be looking forward to welcoming you back here.

With Best Regards,
Cavidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at his hotel in October 2012 with my wife and loved this hotel because of its garden full of trees and magnificent sea view.
The hotel staff is very helpful and polite, they arrange airport transfer without any problem which I recommend travelers to use this service since a taxi costs 1.5 times more than the shuttle service.
Hotel's beach is well-kept and the sea is amazing.
I recommend this hotel especially in May and September for travelers seeking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a suite at the third floor (No. 307). It has a massive balcony with great sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear anil_talasli,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing them with others. It is great to read that your first visit to the hotel was a relaxing and pleasant one. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with my team who will be delighted that they were able to ensure that your stay was comfortable.

Thank you for choosing Denizkizi Royal Hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With Best Regards,
Cavidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 3 weeks here in September & it was our 5th stay. We have already booked to return for 3 weeks next September, with friends coming for our last 2 weeks. We think that speaks for itself. The upgraded rooms are lovely & we don't miss the balcony as we thought we would because of the floor to ceiling sliding doors. The breakfast is more than adequete & can't comment on the evening meal as we like to venture out. Lamb in the well on Sunday lunchtime - superb!!!

Room Tip: Third floor sea facing denizkizi hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear ClarelLondon,

Thank you for your kind words and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Denizkizi. The recent refurbishment of the hotel has received a number of great comments and it is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback. The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back again next year in September.

With Kind Regards,

Cavidan
Front Office and Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

the hotel is a basic 3 star hotel - the rooms have been upgraded and are of a good standard. there is a beach nearby which is sandy and comfortable. What lets this hotel down is the restauant. The food is awful - more like a staff canteen with long tressel tables catering for coach parties. It was like a bun fight, on each occasion we dined large coach parties arrived and fought to get at the food - service was poor due to numbers being catered for.

due to the above we booked out of this hotel and went to the Arkin Palm Beach Hotel which was fabulous and high quality food and service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear claude22_11,

How disappointing to read your feedback following your recent visit to Denizkizi Hotel. I was so sorry that you did not enjoy dining in our restaurant and that you found the level of service insufficient which, as you will see from other reviews on tripadvisor, is not the norm. In high season, we have an outside terrace which caters for a larger number of guests comfortably and with wonderful views of the sea. However, this year, due to the unusually bad weather conditions, we had to close the outside terrace restaurant earlier than usual which might have caused part of the problem.

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and you can rest assured that I will cooperate with the restaurant team to ensure that we offer high standards to our guests in terms of service, operations and food quality.

I hope that you do return to Denizkiz Hotel and have the opportunity to enjoy the high standards of service that many of our guests have found so memorable.

Cavidan Beydagli
Front Office and Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Denizkizi and wished we had booked for longer. The staff were all so friendly and also efficient we never had to wait for a table or food. We stayed at the Royal lovely views of sea and mountains although other guests in the other hotel said rooms were newer. Excellent pool and beach facilities all very clean. The hotel is a little further out of Kyrenia than we would like but no problem getting in on the Dolmus which is very cheap. Lots of guests were frequent visitors and we can understand why we will certainly visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear 137WiltshireChris

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with others. It was lovely to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one and it will give me great pleasure to share this with the whole team who will be delighted that their efforts to ensure that you had an exceptional stay were so appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Denizkizi and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With kind regards,

Cavidan Beydagli
Front Office and Reservaitons Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had heard of a place in kyrenia called "The lamb in the well". They do a Sunday Lunch different to the norm. Booking is recommended. It is situated in the lovely grounds of the Denizkizi hotel. There were 10 of us and we were seated at our table overlooking the beautiful beach a blue sea. Surroundings/gardens were stunning. To begin with the owner gave a talk about how, in the olden days people would steal a sheep and Cook it in an underground oven, cover it solidly and no one knew about the stolen sheep. Today it is cooked there on the same principle but more hygienic. The pieces of lamb were hung on skewers and cooked underground along with onions and potatoes, for about 3 hours. All the meat was then cut off the bone and served with the onions, potatoes, salad and bread. It was delicious. A dessert followed. After we had digested our lunch it was off to the beach, to sleep it off and then a dip in the sea. What a lovely Sunday a really nice change to the normal Sunday roast. Only downside was that I thought it was a little overpriced for what food you actually got, 40tl pp. But taking into consideration the food, the stunning surroundings and free use of the sun beds and umbrellas we couldn't complain

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear sue4656,

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Lamb in the Well which is our speciality since 1970s. In terms of the price, I want to say that preparing the lamb in the well is a very thourough and costly process so we could not keep the prices any lower unfortunately.

We hope that you will return on another Sunday to join us at this special lunch occasion.

Best Regards,
Cavidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited this hotel in 2010 and decided to return this year. Once again the staff were efficient and friendly apart from the surly red haired barmaid who worked in the Country Club at lunchtimes. She just never seemed happy in her work. Stayed at the Royal and like a previous reviewer found it difficult to justify the premium rates charged now that the older hotel has been refurbished. Unlike 2010 the bathroom did not have a walk-in shower, which meant clambering into the bathtub each time, OK if you are fit otherwise a bit of a chore. Tried to change our room but hotel was full. However everything else was great. Spent many a happy hour just chilling out at the pool and I must praise all the staff there. It was cleaned every day and bar service was first class. As usual Mr Niazi was always on hand to ensure his clientele were well looked after. Thanks to Chris and Dave from Wigan for their company over the fortnight. This was their first visit and they were most impressed. Hope to return soon. One last thing, if you like Chinese food try the China House which is opposite the Ship Inn on the road into Girne. One of the best I've had for quite some time.

Room Tip: For the less mobile try to ensure you get a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear claud59music,

I am very happy to hear that you were overall satisfied with your stay at Denizkızı. I want to advise you that Denizkizi Royal Hotel is no longer charged at a premium rate - the rates are equal to those of Denizkizi Hotel seaview rooms. Besides, we are partly renovating the Denizkizi Royal building this winter - for this year the renovation will be on the third floor only but in about 2-3 years we expect the whole building to be completely renovated.

I am sorry to hear that we could not accomodate your needs with respect to in-room showers. We do have rooms with walk-in showers in the Royal building,however, during busy periods these could indeed be occupied so we were unable to change your room. For your next holiday, I would advise that you book with us early on and specifically ask for a room with walk-in shower so that you will not be disappointed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Denizkizi,

All the best,
Cavidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denizkizi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denizkizi Hotel

Address: PK 230 Dumlupinar Sokak, Alsancak - Karavas 10, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denizkizi Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal shores of Northern Cyprus overlooking its picturesque sandy cove, Denizkizi Resort offers a unique mix: the amenities and conveniences of a modern beachfront hotel, coupled with the warmth and appeal of a cozy local inn...Seafront opulence abounds at Denizkizi. With lush landscaping and a pristine golden sandy beach, this is a retreat unlike any other-- offering comfortable accommodations, a beachfront restaurant, a sparkling swimming pool, a fitness centre and regional distinctive dining.Serving international guests for over 3 decades, Denizkizi has become synonymous with quality holidays at affordable rates in Northern Cyprus. Offering two distinctive hotel buildings with different room categories in each, you are sure to find the one that’s right for you.From its gracious coastline views to a multitude of services and amenities, this world-class resort offers a masterful mix of nature and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Denizkizi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denizkizi Hotel Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denizkizi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.