We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Blue Icebergs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jokulsarlon Lagoon

Jokulsarlon Lagoon
Skaftafell National Park | Route 1, Iceland
4782222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$206*
and up
Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day...
Ranked #1 of 290 Attractions in Iceland
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Blue Icebergs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to Jokulsarlon with a private tour group thru Reykjavik Safari. The lagoon was well worth the time it took to travel there. We did an overnight trip and added on other stops to make the travel more efficient. Jokulsarlon itself is amazing. I have never seen two pictures of it that are alike. When we we there the lagoon was filled with maybe 100 icebergs different sizes many of them were a brilliant blue. We opted for the boat(Duck) trip and enjoyed the close up of the icebergs. You don't have to take a boat to enjoy this sight however. We enjoyed this part of the trip more then the Golden Circle.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    55
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesaieed, Qatar
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Don't leave Iceland without seeing Jokulsarlon...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Iceland...a very unique country full of natural wonders.... Jokulsarlon lagoon is the most fascinating of them all...Even though itz a long way ride from Rekjavik... around 7-8 hours....the road trip is really cool... dormant volcanoes, glaciers, lava fields, cliffs at Vik...lots of sights on the way...once u get to Jokulsarlon, try the duck ride as it takes u through the lagoon... u can see some seals and even try some very very old glacial ice...Try renting a car and do it yourself.... Else Icelandic Excursions provide great day trip to Jokulsarlon and u can see a few waterfalls on the way too....Dont miss it....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We took the duck trip through the glacial lagoon. You will be amazed at the power and beauty of water. You'll even get a chance to try 1000 year old glacial ice - so pure and clean. A must do!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Do the boat tour for a breathtaking experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my most favorite sight amongst our entire week-long Ring Road trip around Iceland!
I had read all the rave reviews beforehand and and it did not disappoint!
It is truly a magical sight!

We arrived planning to take one of the Zodiac boats but were told that they were cancelling the trips for the day due to safety reasons (calving of the icebergs and big chunks of ice threatening the small rubber boats).
So, we went right across the bridge to Ice Lagoon Tours and signed up for one of the amphibian boats. No need for a reservation. They have 4 boats that run continuously, one leaves about every 10-15 minutes. The cost was about $31 per person for a 30-40 minute ride and well worth it!

We were a little disappointed that we did not get the more intimate experience of the zodiac boat but the amphibian boat definitely gave us a much better perspective than you can get from land and in my opinion, a boat tour of either kind, is a must, especially if photography is important to you.
It is one of our most memorable, favorite experiences we had in all of gorgeous Iceland!!
DO IT!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are several locations from where you can see the ice floating around before melting. The best, and most crowded, is near the bridge. No need for any boat tour, the overall view is stunning anyway.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jokulsarlon Lagoon also viewed

 
Vik, South Region
 

Been to Jokulsarlon Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jokulsarlon Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.