We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive restaurant but food is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brahen Kellari

Brahen Kellari
Puolalankatu 1, Turku 20100, Finland
+358 2 232 5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 203 Restaurants in Turku
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scandinavian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining
TURKU
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive restaurant but food is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This restaurant in the center of Turku and they have redecorated this place recently so now the place is rather cozy. The food is good but the prices are very high even for an Finnish restaurant.

I ate a steak and it was good but costed almost 40 euros and in other places you can eat starter, main course and dessert for that price. Desserts and starters cost here about 12 euros and especially desserts are nothing special. In Finland you dont find too many restaurants that have good desserts and usually the desserts are boring and overpriced just like in this restaurant. Also we had a young female waiter and she was quite unfriendly. In an expensive restaurant one would expect to receive excellent service.

If you dont mind spending a small fortune when you are eating then I would recommend this place to you. There are still many restaurants that offer better value for your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lost reservations, poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had booked a table in advance, but when we arrived to the restaurant at the time reserved, the table had been given away. The personel had written the reservation in the reservation book at the wrong time, and as they do not gove written reservation confirmations, the customer is in a poir position in these cases. Poor service when trying to sort this out, nobody knew anything. Will never go to this place again. Luckily Turku has many other restaurants, which have good service and competent personnel.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerBrahe, Owner at Brahen Kellari, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi and thank you for your comment on April 30th,2014!

You had reservation for 5 persons at 6 pm for dinner. This reservations was made by phone and we do repeat for all callers at the end of every call everything that has been agreed. Should person who makes the reservation want to be confirmed by email as well, we do so.

We tried to call the number you gave us at 6.25 pm to confirm and check that you will be coming... and let it ring until the end. There was no answer by you and we did let other walk-in party to be seated to the table reserved you at 6 pm. Should you have known and adwised us ahead that you are late for some reason we would be able to postpone your reservation to more convienient time for your party. We did offer you later seating at 9 pm when first table suitable to seat 5 persons would have been vacant.

Thank you for your comment on us and my sincere apologies for any inconvienience to your celebration that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good quality, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The place is cozy (despite the meaningless references to Italy on the walls, being the food not particularly Italian) and it has a good selection of food and beverages.

I found the food to be OK, yet the ratio quantity-quality was barely ok, especially given the price. However, I find it hard to believe that it's possible to find anything better at that price in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good reindeer meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Roasted reindeer meat was excellent ; tender, juicy, fresh taste. Also tried a dessert made of cloudberry, and a coffee with a certain almond liquor, most impressive. Spacious nice restaurant , excellent service and staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch at Turku”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have a lunch break at Turku and ee found this nice cellar-restaurant. Food was good at "normal-price". Atmosphere was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brahen Kellari also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Brahen Kellari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brahen Kellari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.