We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, friendly service and lovely riverside location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blanko

Blanko
Aurakatu 1, Turku 20100, Finland
+358 (0)2 233 3966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 204 Restaurants in Turku
Price range: $7 - $36
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service and lovely riverside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been to Blanko several times over the past few years. The food is always really flavourful. On my most recent visit I had the chicken and avocado tagliatelle, which was lovely. One of our group had the strawberry and haloumi salad, and he kept exclaiming in delight when he found a new thing on his plate. He said it was like they took all his favourite things, that he'd never think to combine, and made a salad out of it.

The atmosphere is reasonably casual, and the staff are very friendly. On quiet lunchtimes they don't mind you sitting and reading for literally hours as you eat. If the weather is good, you can sit outside and enjoy the river view, which is very pleasant during the summer months. If I ever make it back to Turku again, I'll be swinging by at least once.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    54
    24
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I eat here quite often, both lunch and dinner. All courses are usually tasty, and the wine menu fits well with the food. Blanco's lamb pasta is legendary and highly recommended. Remember to book a table for a dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wish we booked a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were wandering around the center of Turku trying to find some place to eat early dinner on a Saturday. The restaurant is situated right next to the river and looked nice from the outside. We were greeted warmly and gladly they found a table for us because we were so early there at 5pm. We got a really small table next to the bar which was not ideal. Waiters were rushing past us and doing drinks next to us, so not much romantic atmosphere there. But the dining rooms on either end of the bar looked lovely, dimly lit and romantic. The service was friendly and casual and the food was really good, we had lamb and some fish dish. I though both were fantastic. The best part was that the restaurant was not too expensive. In Helsinki I feel like you have to pay much more for that quality of food. I want to go back again, but that time I will reserve a table well in advance and specifically ask for a table in the dining section.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a dinner at 7pm one friday (2 people) in Blanko. I made the reservation 2 weeks before and still we got probably the worst table in the restaurant. The table was very small and there was no privacy because the next table was like 20 cm from ours. Also the jackets in the coat rack were hanging next to our faces. Food was ok, but we felt like the waiter just wanted to get rid of customers as fast as possible. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Menu with broad selection and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I had thai plate (which was more like indian) but still fantastic. Entire list looked delicious with really different choise of cousines. House white was nice but stay away from the red (of the house).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanko also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 
Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Blanko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.