We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocca

Rocca
Lantinen Rantakatu 55, Turku 20100, Finland
02-2848800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 220 Restaurants in Turku
Price range: $5 - $19
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Excellent service and good food with reasonable prices

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rocca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Enjoyed!!!!!!!!!!!!:!!"!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“tasty fine dining in nice setting and ok price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We dined here with my husband and some friends. Tables can be booked online up to 24 hrs before the desired date and time. That worked well.

Deer carpaccio as starter was absolutely brllliant with very tender meat and all flavours matching. As a main I had reineer and elk which was also very nice. A friend also said the pepperbeef was brilliant. Nice wine selection with reasonably prices wines. Although prices are not cheap, it's worth investing the money.

Definitely recommend this!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

While traveling in Turku, I had an early dinner by myself at this restaurant. I had the hunter's plate and the entrecote, with a nice glass of Chilean Cab. Neither plate was absolutely perfect, but the plates were both quite good and enjoyable. The service was also good - attentive but not overbearing, which is very much appreciated when dining alone.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A quiet place to have lunch ... and for a reason”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Ha-ha. I really thought that as a result of the re-arrangement, Rocca would finally find its place on the map of restaurants at Turku. But no, they continue their search for an understandable identity.

I visited Rocca three times: the first and the second & last time. The first time I went for lunch with my colleague, tempted by Beef Lindström, one of my absolute favourites. But, this was only a simple steak hache, where was the beet? And, why on earth do they have trainees as waiters - of course, to cut cost.

The second & last time I invited two old friends for a reunion over lunch. I told them before, that at one a'clock on a friday afternoon, Rocca would be a nice quiet restaurant for remembering old times. And it was. We had the day's fish, which was ok, but nothing special. Once again, the service was what it was. The ordinary personnel does not seem to care less and the trainees do the work.

No, no, no - this is not the way to run a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocca also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
 
Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Rocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.