We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressing but not so wealthy decorated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turku Cathedral

Turku Cathedral
Tuomiokirkkotori 20, Turku 20500, Finland
(+358 2) 261 7100
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 things to do in Turku
Attraction details
Tychy, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressing but not so wealthy decorated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was impressed with the cathedral and its interior, really big one actually. I was also impressed that it is not that wealthy decorated comparing to the cathedrals I've seen so far.
I was also there on the organs concert and it was amazing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    84
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Turku Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

very big cathedral in very historical place ,very closed to the downtown and the public library.
the admission is free.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“history in a nutshell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

if you got limited time, then this is a must. Here you'll find history in a nutshell, living religion and tranquillity. Skip the museum if you're in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The exterior of this church really drew us in and we were lucky enough to visit on a day that someone was playing beautiful organ music inside. The building is structurally amazing and well worth a walk-through.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“charming old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

An interesting building, obviously very old, and with great accoustics - we were fortunate enough to visit while the choir were singing. Some information in English would have been good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turku Cathedral also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Turku Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turku Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.