We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese in Turku!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karu Izakaya

Karu Izakaya
Aurakatu 3, Turku 20100, Finland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 204 Restaurants in Turku
Restaurant details
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Japanese in Turku!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Karu is an excellent Japanese Izakaya in Turku!

Their Bento Box was Very Nice starter... Main corse was Some chicken and salad and the Japanese Cook Did an excellent job. Even the Cherry pannacotta dessert was Very pleasant. Great sake from Hiroshima in a beatiful tokkuri crowned the Experience.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
“Matti R”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked a table for two in the early evening. Our daughter decided to come along, and when we arrived to our surprise we did not get the extra seats even when we sat in our table of the original.
So Finnish flexibility.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Tasting menu is amazing and you really don't leave from this restaurant hungry. Also the wine selection is great.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

blending modern cross-asian flavors & japanese in an excellent way.
reasonably priced and good atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Karu is a gem among the Japanese restaurants in Turku, why not in Finland. The sushi and sashimi platters are abolutely fresh and very tasty. The guys in the open kitchen are very ambitious as to the quality and prepare aestetically beautiful dinner sets. The limited choice of wines contains good companions to the food. The service is very friendly, relaxed and personal. Prices are moderate compared to the standard and enjoyment. Reservation necessary most of the time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karu Izakaya also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 
Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Karu Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karu Izakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.