We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Services is good with comfy relaxing facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Break Sokos Hotel Caribia to your Saves list
Break Sokos Hotel Caribia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Services is good with comfy relaxing facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We got very good reception when we arrived early in the morning. We got check in directly. It is true the room is small and the hotel is not that fresh but we were only staying for a couple of days. We knew it is not a resort. The pool area is excellent for family with kids. I enjoyed it a lot too playing with my daughter. 1000 to 1800. kids can easily play with other kids.Even good for small babies. The range of choice for restaurants and eateries is small but I do see the point. As long as we can relax a whole day with the kids around and safe, I am fine with some standard food. Breakfast is good esp. the smoothies. Choco fountain is nice, not that we ate a lot, but a fond memory so we will always remember , you know , that hotel we got chocolate fondue for breakfast! And we got late check out the next day on a small fee, which meant that we spent nearly a whole day in the pool again. Very tired when we got home though. Staff are helpful which made us felt welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback. It is always nice to hear when whole family has enjoyed their staying in our hotel. We want to give a pleasant and memorable visit for each and everyone in our hotel and we are glad that we succeeded with you so nicely. What comes to our restaurants, We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon, the chocolate fountain is still at its place waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
46
12
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lux
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have to confess that I was very, very surprised that Sokos Hotel Caribia turned out to be the worst hotel that I've ever visited – and I have seen a lot of hotels both on business and pleasure.

We arrived to the hotel already at 12h40 and thus the room was not cleaned yet. The receptionist was not able to tell when the room will be ready, it might take take anything from 30 minutes to 2,5 hrs. She suggested that we'll wait at the lobby and she will let us know when the room is ready. That was agreed.

After waiting over 2,5 hours (!) I contacted the same receptionist again. She did not even remember me. When I told her that she had promised to let us know when the room is ready, she denied that: as she did see the situation, she promised only to try to let us know in case she is not busy with other customers. At this point I was furious and informed her twice that she is lying, which she of course did not confess. I left the hotel and for sure I will never go back.

I really don't understand why she was not able to say say “I'm really sorry, I forgot.” Why to lye and blame the customer in a situation where three (3) customers have heard what she did say? Both parties were native, so there was no possibility of misunderstanding here. Furthermore, we did wait all the time nearby and we did really see the work she was doing. She was not busy all the time, she did have time to organize the shelves, have a lunch, chat with colleagues etc.

Regarding the hotel location: the hotel management seems to be very keen on this forum on stating that the hotel is close to the city center. In order not to be disappointed you should check by yourself from e.g. googlemaps how long it will take to walk to the city center.

Room Tip: Choose an another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you experienced a bad customer service, and that you were not served according to your wishes. Your case has been dealt with our staff and we will pay even more attention to the needs of clients. Our staff, however, gets constantly feedback for nice and friendly service, so it is a pity that we failed in our service with you.

Hotel rooms are available (Check in time) in Break Sokos Hotel Caribia at 3pm. If the there are rooms available and the cleaning situation allows, we always try to provide rooms for customers as early as possible, but sometimes the previous night has been full and we are unable to release the rooms before 3 pm.

You also mentioned our location versus Turku city. Our location is 1.5 km from the city center (Market Square) and it gets about 15-20 minutes to walk there. There is also a good bus connections from our hotel to the city center, buses leaves every 10 minutes to the city center and back. Cars can be parked at the hotels parking lot and take a trip to Turku, either on foot, by bus or by bicycle. Just follow the Aura river direct to centre. The hotel also has bikes for rent.

Thank You for your observations, all feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Did not stay there, only visited the Spa - which really has much to do for children and adults alike. It is not brand new, and it is starting to show. Slides, outdoor pools, water massage, Finnish saunas, fast food... yes you can spend a day there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting our Spa. Glad to hear you had a good day in the spa with your family, we hope we'll see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Naturally the great attraction here is the spa, which is included to the room prices. Attracts a lot families and maybe is great for kids. Unfortunately the place is not the best shape anymore and if you don't have a family and kids, one should consider other alternatives in Turku. The place is little outside of city centre, the restaurant selection is very poor (actually just one small restaurant), the service is not the best, the parking is not included to the room price. Small things but all in all makes this second class option

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Our spa is very popular among families with children, so there are plenty of families and children visiting in the spa daily. However, we try to provide services to people of all ages in our spa, not just the families. We do for example offer a moonlight-swim only for adults as well as candlelight swim also for adults.

Last year the amount of visitors in the spa was nearly 142 000 so spa is used a lot. We are constantly renewing all our departments, not all at once and not so visible ways but something is always going on also in the spa area.

We do have 3 different restaurants (pizzeria, hamburger place and Ala Carte Restaurant Havanna) open daily. However, it was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you. We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.

Thank you for visiting us, please do come back sometimes and let’s make your visit so memorable that we will be your first option next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel, though getting quite old was okay. It is situated just out of Turku, about 30 min walk or catch bus into town. If catching bus and sightseeing, make sure you get a daily ticket, costs €6.50, instead of €2.50 per trip.
The hotel is quite strange, it has a large spa area downstairs, a restaurent which was nice. Two fast food outlets, which i didnt try. A sauna and steam room. So plenty to do if you especially have kids. I attended a conference here and was all i needed. If i was holidaying, i would prefer nearer city.
Room good, no kettle or toiletries in single room, however other larger rooms have this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and observations for example about the buses. Our location is
1.5 km from the city center and buses do leave from the hotel every 10 minutes. If you want to make a city tour by bus, this day ticket is absolutely the best ticket to do that. Cars can be parked at the hotels parking lot and take a trip to Turku, either on foot (It takes about 15 minutes to walk ) or by bus.

It was also nice to hear that in your opinion there was plenty to do and versatile services in our hotel. We try to offer as many alternatives as possible for all our customers.

Welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spend two nights here on a conference trip, for which it provides good settings. Auditiorium is fine and the hotel also has several smaller rooms for smaller groups. With them though the problem is that some are way too warm and some too cold. Breakfast is a bit modest, but as a conference visitior the lunch/dinner service worked really well. There were several lines from which you could take your food and so no need to wait in line. More options would have been welcomed for the warm dish. Rooms are a bit small, and especially bathrooms. Even for a small person it is a bit hard to move there. Location is walking distance from the centre of the town, and bus service seems to run regularly between the hotel and downtown as there are several houses for student accomondation near by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
At our hotel there are a lot of conference clients and business travelers, and we have received a lot of praise for peaceful accommodation and our spa and gym services which are included in the accommodation price, as well as large and diverse array of meeting rooms and other conference facilities. Glad to hear that in your opinion our conference services worked well.

We are constantly trying to develope our services in the restaurants as well as in the conference services and for this reason all feedback is important to us.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children needed a room for the night before a cruise from Turku. Out of four available hotels with a family size room we choose Sokos Hotel Caribia. Other options would have been a hotel in downton Turku, one in Ruissalo spa and one in Naantali spa (about 20km from the ferry terminal).

The room cost us 270 euros and was definitely not worth it. The room itself had seen better days, our room was very, very warm (someone else mentioned this as well in TripAdvisor) and the extra bed for our older child was hard as a rock.

Breakfast in the hotel was decent and sufficient.

Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to try the spa due to very late arrival as well as early check-out.

Parking (no security, outdoors) will cost you 11 euros, no perks or benefits for hotel guests, which I consider a daylight robbery.

Access to Turku centrum will require decent walking shoes, taxi or a car of your own. Out of all the Sokos hotels I've stayed, this one was definitely the worst, usually they are much better and cheaper. Next time Ruissalo or Naantali without a question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It´s unfortunate that our hotel did´not fill up your expectations. There are several room options in our hotel to choose from and we are more than happy to help to find the best alternative for each client. In our bigger rooms (Superior and Juniorsuite) has a possibility for two extrabeds from the sofa, in Standard room there is a place for 1 extrabed. The room price is affected from these things: room type, arrival date, room availability and how many extra beds needed.

We have a charge for parkering, 11 €/night, 0,70 €/hour (With S-Etukortti Card 5 €/ night). Parking fee is quite competitive compared to other hotels parking fees in the city centre. Parking area does not belong to the hotel and this is the reason why it is not free even to our hotel clients.

Our location is 1.5 km from the city center and it gets about 15 minutes to walk to there. There is also a good bus connections from our hotel to the city center, buses leaves every 10 minutes to the city center and back.

Thank you for your observations and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Caribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Caribia 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Caribia is a holiday resort located within walking distance of the Turku city centre. Its main attraction is the Caribbean-style theme spa with three flume water-slides, eight swimming pools and saunas providing a great experience for the whole family. Sokos Hotel Caribia is much more than just a spa. The high quality hotel, the variety of different restaurants, Wellness Center, Caribia’s versatile events Arena and the excellent conference facilities, all combine to create a totally unique leisure complex that will keep you coming back for more. Alone, with a companion or the whole family - Caribia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.