We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent for a family with kid/s!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Break Sokos Hotel Caribia to your Saves list
Break Sokos Hotel Caribia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty decent for a family with kid/s!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently visited Turku Caribia with family. While the spa side of things was a bit of a disappointment (pool area rather small and fragmented), the hotel did take the children into account in various ways: Big meeting room was converted into a play area with tv, toys, games, other equipment to play and jump around with! Buffet dinner was a bit on the pricey side, but good nevertheless and children's price was calculated based on age (1€ per year) so no complaints with that. Car parking was a nightmare in winter conditions and with heavy snowfall.

Room Tip: Rooms can be hot as Finns value heat over good air-conditioning. At least we had to open windows mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear our pool department did not meet your expectations due to its size and services. It was nice to hear thoug that in your opinion children had been taken very well into account. We try continuously improve our services, so that our services are versatile and suitable for the whole family.

Our reception is open 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help our guests with all questions and problems including Air conditioning.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
11
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room was clean. Breakfast excellent, very good variety. Kids would love the spa (water was quite cold). Free internet access available in rooms. Mini-golf in the hotel's grounds. Little bit outdated hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It is always nice to hear that our clients have enjoyed their visit. We get a lot of positive feedback about our breakfast, and nice to note that also you felt it was good.
We are sorry to hear that you felt the water was cold in the spa. We maintain to keep all pools quite warm and we check the temperatures daily. Water in most of the pools are +32°C (one is 28°C), childrens pool is +34°C and outside pool is +30°C.
We are also updating our rooms at this very moment, so in future we should have more updated rooms for our clients to book.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you at our hotel again!

General Manager
Lorentz Salo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in a standard room and it is the third time here. Each time we bought two night in a cruise package of viking line, so we are not completely sure on how much is paid for the hotel, but it should be around 100 euro/night. it comprises the breakfast and the unlimited use of the spa. This point really makes the difference, and is the reason why we came here. the room are maybe average, clean, with a desk, a small table, an armchair, a seat, a small fridge where customer are welcome to put their things. The breakfast is generous quantitatively, good but not excelent. unfortunately in busy days it might be difficult to get a clean empty table as soon as you arrive in the dining room. Personel at the reception speaks perfectly english and is helpful and kind, and we could check in much earlier then official check in time. we come here for the funny spa, and we have always been satisfied with the variety of pools, slides, and saunas (several types available even if the smoked one is not completely genuine). Considering these features the hotel has a very good quality /price ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad to hear your visit was as nice as always and you really enjoyed of our theme spa. It is also nice to hear that you find our service and staff helpful and welcoming.
It ´s good that you had a nice experience of all our saunas and pools. We do offer different types of saunas both in spa area and as well as in our sauna village. In sauna village you can enjoy the atmosphere of genuine smoke sauna (it takes more than 4 hrs to prepare it for use) or traditional sauna heaten up with wood. Unfortunately these two saunas are not commonly available for all clients, only during holidays and special offers.
We also try to develop our restaurant services all the time (like breakfast) and all the feedback we get is important to us.

We hope to see you again here soon!

General Manager
Lorentz Salo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The spa and the pools were quite good ones. The hotel gym was big and equipments were very good to an average hotel gym. The restaurant was ok. But otherwise the hotel was very, very average. The room was small and outdated. We stayed with a special deal and still paid 100€ a night. Expensive for what you get. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found some of our facilities and services inadequate. We have received a lot of praise from customers about the spa and gym which are included in the accommodation price. We are also updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. All the feedback we get is very important to us, so thank you.

General Manager
Lorentz Salo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a family break. Got the superior room this time fits a family of four with space left over, this is more like the size of some standards at other hotels, standard rooms are cramp here. Nice to have a kettle and tea and coffee, free wifi is working well though my Skype call only went through when connected to VPN. Sound insulation is none existent, sitting here listening to every word of the families either side. The father has a very bad cough ;-)
Spa is very good plenty to keep the kids occupied. Got busier as the afternoon went on. Side enterance for the hotel guests, wish I had known that before walking through the restaurant area in a bath robe. Pity the slides and such don't open till 10 no guest perk there.
We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs quality was good, price was medium to high. Chocolate cake for dessert was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel, despite a few problems with our service and facilities. However, we hope to see your family here again sometime. Merry Christmas!

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We reserved a superiore room for our family vacation (2 adults and a child) based on the reviews on this site (small standard rooms). The size of the room was better for our family. Slightly worn room had electric kettle, minibar, double bed, bathtub and a sofa. Also bathrobes and slippers were available.
The best part in this hotel is the spa-area. Plenty of pools, slides and tropical atmosphere. Something for everybody. There was also a pirate ship inside including a bar. We hoped that it would have been open. Only hamburger bar at the area provided the snacks and drinks.
The hotel is near the city center so it is possible to stay other hotels in the city and visit the spa from there. Public transportation is well organized and busses departs every 15 minutes.
Breakfast was average.
Hotel staff friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Families with children get superiore room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our spa and found a room that fit your family´s needs. Our hotel has a variety of room types available and we are more than happy to help each client to find the most suitable type of room when booking. We recommend everybody to contact our hotel sales office before booking

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been many times at the gym and at the spa when I'm in Turku. I like going under the water that's why I see how dirty the pools are. The restaurants are good. I've been there many times and everything was fine. I'm going there (to the gym and spa) after writing this... I hope the pools are clean today...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoy visiting in our Spa and gym. It is unfortunate that you felt our spa area and pools are untidy. We take care of the cleanliness and tidiness of our pools and spa area daily and also the spa areas hygiene is also regularly tested according the requirements of the authorities.

However, the bottom of the pools can accumulate “coal” which is used in cleaning the water, but it is not dirt. To maintain the cleanliness the pools are being hoovered throughout daily for example to get the carbon residues off.

Thank you for your feedback, your feedback is important to us. Hope to see you again soon.

Hotel Manager
Tarja Jalonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Caribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Caribia 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Caribia is a holiday resort located within walking distance of the Turku city centre. Its main attraction is the Caribbean-style theme spa with three flume water-slides, eight swimming pools and saunas providing a great experience for the whole family. Sokos Hotel Caribia is much more than just a spa. The high quality hotel, the variety of different restaurants, Wellness Center, Caribia’s versatile events Arena and the excellent conference facilities, all combine to create a totally unique leisure complex that will keep you coming back for more. Alone, with a companion or the whole family - Caribia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.