We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Break Sokos Hotel Caribia to your Saves list
Break Sokos Hotel Caribia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Outdated Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel has been built in 1970's and renovated in 1990's.
Now I think it should be renovated once again.
It has allready seen it's best days.
No air condition at all.
Our room was much too dark and worn out.
The Spa section was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your observations. The hotel has been opened as it is now in year 1999 and we have made renovation in our restaurants and spa (spring 2011) and also in conference rooms (fall 2011). What comes to hotel rooms, we are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our Spa area.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
11
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, Middlesex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is no doubt that children will love this hotel as the swimming pool is FANTASTIC! But unfortunately the rooms are VERY small - we booked online for a family room (2 adults & 2 children) but on arrival found it was a standard room with two beds, a camp bed, and a fold up matress for the 2nd child - but there was no space in the room to put the matress on the floor!! So we ended up putting the three beds next to each other! not great! The rooms are a bit shabby and we had a wonderful view overlooking a graveyard!!!
Luckily the pool was so good that we hardly spent anytime in the room, there is also a fun crazy golf course at the front of the hotel.
The food downstairs was good quality but rather expensive (steak and vegetables 30 euros!) children had pizza which was nice but after 3 days got a bit boring!
Overall a great hotel for a long weekend, but not much longer than that!

Room Tip: Families of 4 in one room need to book the more expensive Superior rooms so there is enough room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the nice feedback and it was good to hear that you enjoyed our spa.
Our hotel also offers a bigger room options such as a Superior room (25 m2), Superior Room (37 m2) as well as a standard-rooms with a connecting door. We apologize that you did not get enough information about the different room options during the booking. In the future, we recommend to contact our hotel sales office before booking, so we can tell about more suitable room options for a family. We are also updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors.

It was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you, and you could’n find enough alternatives for children from the Children Menu. We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a weekend stay. We travel with a small child so we love the great pool area of this hotel. Sadly the rooms are very old and small. No room for the child to play in the room. But Turku city is near by so it was nice taking a walk in to town and along the river. Breakfast buffet was good, something for everyone. The restaurant floor feels like beeing in a basement (because it is in the basement) and you can get your hamburger or pizza there, the rest on the menu is overpriced. The beauty center provides good quality cosmetology services. Might go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our services mainly responded to your expectations. We are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. However, it was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you. We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is probably okay if you are travelling with children, and want somewhere relaxed, but it is not really for people travelling for business.

The rooms are small - not even space for a bed-side table or shelf - and mine was certainly showing signs of wear and tear. I couldn't find out how to switch-off the noisy aircon at night.

The restaurants / eating options were okay, but very informal. The car parking is pay at the meter.

Staff were very efficient and polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
The summer months, holiday seasons and weekends are high season for our hotel, which is why there are lot of families with children visiting our hotel at the same time. During the week however, there are mainly business travelers. We have received a lot of praise from business travelers from a restful stay, as well as a possibility to use the spa and gym which are included in the accommodation price.

From the beginning of September, hotel guests have the opportunity to go and have a morning swim and sauna already at 7 am (Mon-Fri). We are also updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help our guests with all questions and problems including Air conditioning.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you at our hotel again!

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 6 days and I to say my opinions of it are quite mixed. On the + side, the swimming pool complex is fantastic!! my 4 year old son loved all the pools slides etc. It does get a little crowded after 10 am when it opens to the public (this is also when the outdoor pool, slides, bouncy castle open. Another + is the breakfast which is included in the rate and is very extensive. The - are the rooms. We were 3 people in a standard room and there was barely any room to walk around the room at all. The housekeeping was patchy at best and the room safe did not work despite being mention on numerous occasions. If I was judging the place on the rooms (which are quite expensive) then I would have given a very poor rating but the spa facilities bring the hotel as a whole to average

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool area despite the crowd and that our breakfast was tasty. You mentioned that your room was a bit too small for three persons. Our hotel also offers a bigger room options such as Superior room (25 m2 and 37 m2) and Standard- rooms with connecting doors. We apologize that you did not get enough information about the different room options during the booking. Hopefully next time we can book more suitable room for your family.

We hope to see you at our hotel again!

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Eventough we were in a conference, I think the hotel is in its best as an indoor bath for families with children.
Generally conference facilities are working nicely. Except the free internet did not tolerate any load. (June 2012).
Rooms are typical finnish S-hotel line quality.At least our rooms were a little bit worn-out, but bathroom, beds and cleaning ok.

Brekfast and lunch good/average finnish style for medium sized hotel.
Walking distance from down town Turku.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Our hotel serves as a meeting and leisure travelers alike.
At our hotel there are a lot of conference clients and business travelers, and we have received a lot of praise for peaceful accommodation and our spa and gym services which are included in the accommodation price, as well as large and diverse array of meeting rooms and other conference facilities. Glad to hear that the meeting services have worked for you otherwise fine except for internet connections. We have renewed the net line and increased the base stations in June 2012, and the network is likely to have been at that time the instantaneous load.

Thank you for your feedback and welcome again.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived bit before 3 pm which is the earliest time to sign in. The reception was flooded with people on queues and it just took ages to get your turn on the desk. The wait was almost an hour and as a compensation for my one hour waiting I got a coupon. Yup, coupon to the Hesburger fast food joint which would give me magnificient one euro discount on my purchase.

Upon arrival to the suite we noticed that the equipment level really was not up to the price of the room. As a small annoyance there were no pens in the room, I got one from the cleaning lady but still... the room offered free coffee and tea, as all decent suites do. Unfortunately the room was available for 3-4 persons but the standard free selection was two cups of coffee and two bags of tea. Really, two portions of coffee for a room of four people? Minibar was poor show, two beers, chocolate bar and Pringles. No hard liqour.

The spa was nice and open until nine. Unfortunately in the morning the water features were not working although the spa was open for hotel quests. All the water streams, jacuzzis and other fun stuff were turned on only when the spa opened for the wider audience.

Breakfast was good, wide selection and mot importantly they had bacon. On the other hand the other restaurants were not so good, the Havanna had lousy portion size and once again we had to wait. The restaurant was maybe 25% full and it took 45 minutes to get the food from order.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your accommodation time took place over our holiday season when there are lots of customers coming in and checking out. Unfortunately we can’t predict what time the majority of customers arrive to the hotel. Especially in foul weather, guests often arrive to check in to the hotel as soon as possible and unfortunately sometimes the reception is formed queues.

From the beginning of September, hotel guests have the opportunity to go and have a morning swim and sauna already at 7 am (Mon-Fri) and weekends (Sat-Sun) at 8 am in the morning. Outdoor pool, water slides and hot tubs will be opened at 10 am.

Thank you for your observations about the Superior Room features as well as our restaurants and food -service. We will take things forward.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Caribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Caribia

Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Caribia 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Caribia is a holiday resort located within walking distance of the Turku city centre. Its main attraction is the Caribbean-style theme spa with three flume water-slides, eight swimming pools and saunas providing a great experience for the whole family. Sokos Hotel Caribia is much more than just a spa. The high quality hotel, the variety of different restaurants, Wellness Center, Caribia’s versatile events Arena and the excellent conference facilities, all combine to create a totally unique leisure complex that will keep you coming back for more. Alone, with a companion or the whole family - Caribia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Caribia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.