We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy and very popular restaurant at the river bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinta

Tinta
Lantinen Rantakatu 9 | 20100, Turku, Finland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 204 Restaurants in Turku
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cosy and very popular restaurant at the river bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friendly service, good food and a wide selection of good wines. Make a reservation! Try the thin, oval pizza with parma ham and fig.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great pizzas, great place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have visited Tintå several times, almost always we visit Turku.
We love the pizzas. They are not huge, they combine the tradition of pizza with new innovation. The place is situated by the Aura river, so views are great. Tinta is in the center of Turku.
Good point also, that there are other good places around, so if you don't get a table in Tinta, you have other options, too.
Highly recommend - nice atmosphere and good wines, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very mediocre place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've had quite high expectations for it, as the restaurant was/is described as THE best in Turku, so that way perhaps my opinion is biased, but to me this spot is nothing special. It is right on the river, but boat restaurants near by are certainly even more so; it is supposedly well known for the fish it serves, but the fish I had was nothing special, quite frankly it fell short of good too - perhaps not 'bad' but 'acceptable' is already an honour to it; and it was well overpriced. I feel sorry for all the people of Turku if this is indeed the best fish restaurant they have. The wine was fine though (can't remember the price, but it was really good), and the waiter was right there whenever I needed him, so no complaints there.
Still, I'm pretty sure I will NOT go there again by my own choice. Definitely not worth the prices and to the best of my konowledge not by tiny bit better to many surrounding restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tintå”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This review is for everybody but specially for travelers coming to eat in Turku.Tintå was ranked 21 on best restaurants in Finland 2012.I eat there weekends and i have to say the ranking is going to be so much better next time:)Not so much options but thats more better,example fresh smoked fish,hereford meat from local producers like in our weddingparty:)Winelist is the best in Turku probaply most finest in Finland.If you go on weekends you have to book it 2-3weeks advance.There is terrace too,its lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff is always friendly and the location by the Aura river is wonderful. Not the cheapest place but affordable at least once in a while. I always eat the salmon feta pizza here - it may well be the best pizza I have ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinta also viewed

Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 
Turku, Western Finland
Turku, Western Finland
 

Been to Tinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.