We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concentrates on the building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turku Castle

Turku Castle
Linnankatu 80, Turku 20100 , Finland
02 262 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Turku
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Norrkoping
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Concentrates on the building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This example of a medival fortress in the Nordics is well worth a visit. Since it had been severe destroyed by Rusian bombing in WWII including the interior the focus is on the buildning it self. You are well guided by the information signs and the tour is logical.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    85
    29
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nobody would believe that many stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The exhibits are impressive but as my wife was just recovering from a bad car accident we were quite astonished to see how many stairs there were in this basically (judging from the outside) two-to-three-storey building.
I remember a room with some really antique and beautiful statuettes from early Christianity in Finland.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

16 euro per person and you'll never regret it)) This place is a MUST SEE !! I' ll visit it again no doubt!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in Turku Castle in August with my Irish friend. Castle is in really good shape and there is a lot to see. There was also some exhabitions inside. Castle is right next to the river Aura, sea and the harbour, so the location itself is also worth checking out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle - lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect to see at the castle but were quickly enchanted with its many amazing rooms, displays and exhibitions. Children will enjoy the many rooms with props and entertainment for younger visitors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turku Castle also viewed

 

Been to Turku Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turku Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.