We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmi

Hotel Helmi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Helmi to your Saves list
Hotel Helmi
Tuureporinkatu 11, Turku 20100 , Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Basic hotel great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is basic, like an Ibis, and lacks charm but fortunately the receptionist I had made up for it. She is friendly and helpful and kind. I was here on a bike tour and she remember me 4 days later and let me check in earlier than normal time seeing how I was sweaty and tired. The location is not bad, near the bus station and short walk from town. Can't complain much, though the breakfast is a little bland, like the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very nice staff, serviceminded.
The only thing is that you have to check in before 18.00, when they close the reception.
Breakfast OK, but the breakfast room was rather small. The staff told me at what time to come, as they had a big group coming later in the morning.
Price reasonable. The rooms are rather special, in a nice way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel Helmi is a very basic hotel with reasonable prices. Our room was clean and had everything we needed for a short stay. The breakfast is basic but sufficient. There was some kind of humming air-conditioning in the room, but according to the room manual the cooling function is in use in summer only, and soon it was too hot in the room of two people. However, we didn't ask the staff about the air-conditioning so maybe the cooling option could have been used anyway...

Beds were comfortable, bathroom spacious and shower clean with good water pressure. Loved the floor heating!

The hotel is very conveniently located especially if you arrive by bus or by your own car. There is no free parking for hotel guests, so you have to pay the parking fee (~1 € / hour) between 9 am and 6 pm. The hotel reception is closed after 6 pm, so make sure to call the hotel if you arrive late or need assistance with something. Staying in this hotel felt very independent, we didn't see staff members too much during our stay.

I would stay here again for practical reasons.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is just steps from the bus station and also the railway station is very near. There is a large parking place next to the hotel (about 12 € for 24 hours) so arriving with your own car is no problem either. Also a bit more expensive parking in a garage is near (P-Puutori). We expected some traffic noises but there were none, so that was also a nice surprise.

The reception is only open during the daytime so be sure to inform the hotel if you are arriving late at night. When you check in and get your key card you will be able to come and go as you wish.

The rooms are tidy and nice for the money you pay. We payed 85 € for a twin room for one night while the other hotels would have cost about 150-220 € per night, so we thought the price was very reasonable for two comfortable beds and own bathroom with shower. There was also TV, writing desk, two chairs, a small fridge (no minibar), towels and hair dryer. What else would you even need?

We happened to hear the receptionist serving a foreign businesman in very fluent English. She also mentioned there was a 10 % discount in one of the nearby restaurants for the hotels guests.

The breakfast is included in the price and was served in a restaurant in the hotel. It was very basic but again compared to the price it was more than we expected. There was coffee, tea, juices, porridge, muesli, yogurt, bread, cheese, cuts of meat, vegetables and fruit, meatballs and sausages.

The location of the hotel is ideal for people who arrive with public transport but also the center of the city is within 5-10 minutes walking distance. Even closer you will find a grocery store and a couple of pubs and pizzerias. I would absolutely consider hotel Helmi for my next visit to Turku.

Room Tip: Reception is not open 24 hours, inform the hotel if you arrive after 6 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was booked through booking.com weeks ahead; after a stay in our Finnish relative's summer cottage an hours bus ride on from Turku. It is a good basic quality hotel, no frills and flourishs, so don't expect them, but very good value for money. Its selling point is its closeness to bus/coach station and bus to Turku airport goes from there too. Its a bit of a walk to the town centre and the train station respectively, but nothing majorly difficult if you're of average fitness. We trundled our suitcases and backpacks down to the station to catch the 9.00 am train back to Helsinki. The breakfast buffet is open from 6.30 am so no problem. The breakfast room also functions as the bus station's unofficial cafe, as the hotel is basically on the edge of the bus station. Again, the buffet was basic, it would be nice to see more fruit and perhaps a sweet bun or two, as in Helsinki, but no major problems. The breakfast staff didn't speak English, which was unusual again, but sign language and broken Finnish got us there!

Room Tip: book well in advance to get a good room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Perhaps the greatest asset of the hotel is its location, just across from the Turku long distance Coach Station. As a matter of fact, the coach station could literally be an extension of the hotel parking lot (no street to cross). The bus to the airport (number 1) can be availed from across the street (side of the hotel) in front of the McDonald outlet (100m). The hotel itself is very function, like most hotels in North Europe- few staff (sighted only at check-in and during breakfast) but they manage to maintain efficiency via technology and appropriate design, also incorporating energy saving options. We stayed in a three-person room and did not feel at all cramped. The rate was very reasonable considering that it included a reasonable breakfast at their restaurant downstairs. Downtown is about a ten to fifteen minutes walk and so is the Turku Cathedral, the old town and a couple of supermarkets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is more far away than I expected and not close to town centre, even though it is still within walking distance. The room was ok in the beginning, except some hairs in toilet ground. The major problem is that the cleaning afterwards was superficial and even no later. Except replacing the towels, nothing was cleaned up in the room. Hairs on the toilet ground, rubbish still in the trash, etc. The service desk was not there after 6pm, so got no one to help if there is any problem. I did have one with the hairdryer in the night and don't know how to handle with such hostel like service. The price is not cheap and don't expect to feel like staying in hostel. The breakfast buffet is fair, though the choice was not much. If I will go to Turku next time, won't choose this one again even there is no hotel available in the region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmi

Address: Tuureporinkatu 11, Turku 20100 , Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Helmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.