We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Burger Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classic American Diner

Classic American Diner
Itainen katu 9-13, Finlayson, Tampere 33210, Finland
+35832604500
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 262 Restaurants in Tampere
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Burger Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If my kids (ages 5, 12, 18 and 20) are allowed to choose we go here. And for good reason - this is a fun place. Huge burgers for everyone, exotic soft drinks available and decent pricing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    13
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the place where I take my quests to..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

..and also the one we visit most often. I've never eaten a burger in this place but hubby says they are the best in town. I'm stuck with their chicken sandwiches and can't help myself ordering one every time. The service has always been good, even in busy times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bemused by bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Honestly guys, this was the best burger I've ever had in my life. It tasted like it was fried in gold and miracles. I've been dreaming about it ever since and can't wait until December when I'm back in Tampere. The fries were fairly average, the service was as good as Finnish service ever is (I think one of the waitresses may even have smiled!) and it was clean, but none of these things really matter when the burger is this good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangasala, Finland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Hamburgers and more - try the lunch menu beefs or salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I prefer taking my hamburgers at Pancho Villa´s about 200 meters away, but these aren´t bad either. For the lunch menu on weekdays they have improved the level lately, I think. The salads are much better now, and the varieties change. There are four choices for the lunch menu (salad, hamburger / sandwich, chicken, beef/pork) at decent prices (each less then 10 euros). I tend to eat lunch here from time to time, as this is very near the place where I work. There is another restaurant of the same chain in Lielahti suburb, they share the same web site.

Really nice service; visited yesterday for the lunch with a colleague, who had a complainment to make about his portion (for a very small reason, to my opinion - he stated that he´s sick of that the tomatoes aren´t ever fully ripe in Finnish restaurants... I guess he´s somewhat right though, but it does not bother me), and the waiter thanked for the complainment a couple of times, saying he´ll give the feedback to the kitchen, and offered us coffees for free for compensation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Didn't know there was decent diners in Finland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Classic American Diner in Tampere was a pleasant surprise as I really didn't know there is such a thing in whole Finland! Don't get me wrong: can't really compare this to best diners in the states. But compared to restaurants in Finland (and especially the one diner I've visited in Turku) this really was a nice experience. Service was fast (as it should in a diner), food came fast and it tasted quite good. Fries were really average if that, and cole slaw a bit too sweet, but the burgers we had were really, really nice! I especially enjoyed my blue cheese bbq burger - nice! I would have hoped they asked if we wanted the beefs to be made: well done or medium. They just made them quite well - even a bit over - done. Would be even better and juicier if cooked medium. Nice selection of sodas and beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic American Diner also viewed

Tampere, Western Finland
Tampere, Western Finland
 
Tampere, Western Finland
 

Been to Classic American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic American Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.