We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self-service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Hotel to your Saves list
Mango Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hatanpaan Puistokuja 36, Tampere 33900, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tampere B&B and Inns
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“self-service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is located about 2 km from Tampere centre. We had our own car so it wasn't a problem. I think it is also from walking distance from the centre. It was cheap but really good. It is self service hotel but there were receptionist who will wait that everyone has check in. The check in was fast. We got the room number and also number which opens every door. The system worked very well.
We have booked a room for two but they gave us a suite. Nice suprise. There were bedroom and living room in rhe suite. They were furnished with personal style but very nice style.
Breakfast was ok. Maybe there weren't so much choices than other hotels but everything we needed.
We will use this hotel also in future if we need to stay in Tampere. Good value for money. And good atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I did not know that Mango is an on-line hotel. It was more like between design hotel or hostel. Self-services concept was ok and everything worked.
Lots of parking places a and okey breakfast.
Price moderate.

Room Tip: self- services kitchens downstairs and laundry/ironing room. No minibar that's good but big friz
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollola, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We made a booking for this hotel for one night. Unfortunately we could not check in due to an accident. I had made the booking through Booking.com and I was very much aware of the cancellation policy i.e free cancellation prior 48 hours. Less than that - full payment.

Mr. Sataya from Mango Hotel phoned me around 10 p.m. and apologized for the late call. He asked if we are going to check in later at that day/night. When I told him that we are not coming but I shall however pay for the no show, he made me an unexperienced proposal.

I was offered a free night in the future because we could not stay now. He also confirmed it by e-mail.
Ten days later we visited Tampere and we used this remarkable opportunity. I have never heard of this kind of generousity.

The hotel is situated abt. 2 kilometers from the city center. The area is quiet, lots of parking area and everything is in good order. Hotel has no reception but they will send a code number which is the key for all necessary doors. Very practical and simple. If you do not have a car, many busses seem to pass by a bigger street some 150 meters away. This is also on the "right" side of the city if you are coming to the airport.

The room was big enough for two people, the bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. Outside it was silent the whole night, no night clubs or bars disturbing your sleep. If you are looking for a clean and safe accomodation - here you have it. City prices are all over 100 euros here you have value for money.

Breakfast was not like in Hilton, Marriott or Meriden but more than enough. Food quality was good and variation more than sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I think this hotel is rather good for my situation. I drive and exhibition truck around Europe and am on the road for up to 7 weeks. So with a free laundry it is very useful to wash clothes etc. Parking is fine even for a large truck. Owners very helpful and nice. Rooms are interesting in their style a mix of oriental and modern. The place is clean, breakfast is fine unless you want a real cooked one, no bacon and eggs. For those who are on foot it only takes a brisk 15 min to walk into the centre of the town, it is on and industrial area but that is no problem even in the mornings. I will use this place again when I am back in the area. The internet booking is fine and the keyless concept works well. Security might be a little over the top but is no real problem just having to enter your code at every door.
A visit to the 170 meter high tower near the lake is well worth (at the time €8 the views are spectacular. Took me 45 mins to walk there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izu
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed 2 nights, and found it to be more like a motel than a hotel It is located in the outskirts of Tampere convenient for access to freeways. Nothing special but it covers what you need to sleep. It offers free parking and minimum services. Self check in following instructions at the moment of booking. It has free internet, a laundry room for guests, a breakfast area, a refrigerator in the room and we had a small balcony, with a parking view but nice to sit and enjoy a bit of fresh air. Rooms serviced only upon demand. The hotel is a good 15 minutes walk from town, but on weekends you can easily drive, if you have your own car, and park in central areas. There are some nice restaurants in town. One night we did not feel like going out and we bought some ready meals at a department store in the city and eat them in the balcony after warming them up in the microwave oven available in breakfast area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I took a room in Mango Hotel because all the cheap hotels in the centre of Tampere were fully booked. Mango Hotel is situated about 2 kilometres from the railway station. I walked there (no problem). However busses go near the hotel. My single room was nice, clean and furnished in oriental style. I shared the bathroom with the single room next to my room. Breakfast was very good. During my stay I saw one person belonging to the staff. I did not need any help. The area is industrial. There´s several companies selling motor vehicles. I could imagine coming here again, if I can´t find a room in the centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

If all you need is a place to sleep at cheaper rate it's a good place to stay.
No room service, minimal breakfast, but if all you need is a place to sleep, it's quite good. No problem to sleep, even if it is located in a industrial area. Arboretum and small shops at 5-10 minutes walk. We spend 3 evening in the arboretum and it's a very beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
1.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 27 in Tampere
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#11 of 27 in Tampere
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scandic Rosendahl
Scandic Rosendahl
#5 of 27 in Tampere
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampere
Holiday Inn Tampere
#10 of 27 in Tampere
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Tammer
Solo Sokos Hotel Tammer
#3 of 27 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hotel

Address: Hatanpaan Puistokuja 36, Tampere 33900, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Hotel offers quality, comfortable rooms with an Eastern feel at budget prices. Our hotel concept is innovative and is based on the principle of self-service. Make your own room reservation on the Internet, at your convenience, 24 hours a day. Arrive at the hotel, at your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Tampere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.