We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lodging choice in Tampere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tampere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Tampere to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tampere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yliopistonkatu 44, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good lodging choice in Tampere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is my current choice for lodging in Tampere. While it is not the newest facility, the staff and services keep me coming back. It also helps that this is one of our corporate approved hotels.

Pros:

- PriorityClub/IHG Elite are offered upgrades to Executive Room or sometimes even a Junior Suite. Make sure to join IHG Rewards Club!
- Sauna and Jacuzzi on top floor with a great view out on Tampere roof tops and lake
- Short walk from train station and Hammenkatu shopping area
- Finnish breakfast buffet. BUT BRING BACK THE RUISLEIPA and HAPPANKORPU !!!
- Staff friendliness and assistance
- IHG Reward Club members get coupon for free drink and snack or extra 500 points
- Important bus lines have stops very close
- Tampala neighborhood with 2 good gastropubs and 2 grocery stores

Cons:

- No ruisleipa/rye bread on breakfast bar
- Men's sauna in smaller old women's sauna. Women do not need that bigger sauna!
- Facility a bit dated and fixtures/furnishing needs update

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    59
    41
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
24
19
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance from the train. It's an older style hotel but the rooms was well appointed with good linen and very clean and quiet. We used the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding area so access to the train was important. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet offered a good range of hot and cold food. There are good shops and an excellent supermarket only minutes away. Messy road works right outside the hotel only took place during the daytime so the evenings were quiet, no street noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'm writing this mainly because I read a few other comments that implied this place was in need of a refresh. My room was excellent - clean and light, two good nights' sleep. Halls were fine. Lobby is a bit darker than standard Scandinavian tastes, but was also in decent shape - just more like a cozy cabin room than a large, light open place. Restaurant was also good based on two breakfasts and a lunch. WI=ireless internet for all your devices worked everywhere. Also, rather than bother with a fitness room, they have cut a reasonable deal with a gym in the mall that is a half block around the corner (Literally out the door, I'd go right, first right, walk into the mall and up to floor 2). I'd stay here again with zero angst. Also, just a five minute walk to the train station and lots of eateries and bars within a two block area. By the way, the staff was knowledgeable and very nice and always available.

Room Tip: My room was one of the 'smaller' ones and still more than adequate for me; lots of plugs at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Basic, business accommodation.... food at hotel was Ok, nothing special, but the price of a beer was extortionate even by hotel standards. Air con was the noisiest I have ever come across but the shower was like a fireman's hose....wow. invigorating to say the least. convenient location and reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel m, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tampere, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear customer!

Thank you for your concern and precious feedback.
We will take notice these opinions in future development.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

During my extended weekend in Finland, I took a 1-day tour to Tampere with no reservation for the night. The other budget hotels in the entire region were pretty booked up, so I tried my luck when I asked at the reception if any guest had canceled on short notice. The ladies were very friendly and cooperative but by the time had to regret as no room was available.

Nevertheless, the were very helpful in showing me places on a map where I could take a nice swim in the lakes in the greater Tampere area. Enjoyed myself there during the afternoon, returned around 06:00 PM to Tampere, went to Holiday Inn and they had to regret again as still no room was available. In fact, some guests had not checked in, but they could not give away the rooms as the bookings were 'guaranteed'. I said fine, did go downtown to do some additional sightseeing and returned around 10:00 PM. As by the time still some guests had not shown up, the ladies at the reception did their best and freed up one room for me, the very last one which was possibly available in Tampere, or so it felt for me. Even better, they provided me a free breakfast voucher as they could not offer me the upgrade they normally would have granted for me being Platinum Rewards member.

Great service, great customer care, thanks so much.

Apart from the fact the room was equipped with cabinet beds which worked out fine, it was very nice, spacious, everything's in place, parking was free, I slept well, so happy for having found a place for the night. Breakfast next morning was OK, rich choice, as a matter of fact I am not very much experienced when it comes to breakfast in Scandinavia, but I'm definitely not complaining :). Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uusikaupunki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went to see world league volleyball with our friends and took this because it offered two rooms you could connect from the inside with a door.
Free parking below the hotel and the location is very near the center. Easily walking distances to the gogo-places in town. Friendly staff, made a small error in the checkin, nothing we were not able to correct later. Hotel seemed to be in a quiet area and it was quiet even it was summer saturday.
Both rooms were a bit dirty when we arrived, trash on the floor etc. Heard other customers complain about similar things in the reception when we arrived around 4pm. The replied the cleaning was still taking place in the hotel. Do not expect anything special from this hotel. It was 109 euros per night (cheap in Tampere in the summertime), but the room, especially the bathroom, is a low quality (finnish hotel standard).
Breakfast was ok.
I would still propably not stay in this hotel the next time. It is pitty the hotel prices in Tampere are too damn high nowdays.

Room Tip: If I am correct, the only hotel in Tampere offering chance to connect two rooms with communicating d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tampere, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Juho39,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are truly sorry we were able to meet your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The holiday inn in Tampere feels likes an average Finnish hotel. As a restel franchise, the hotel does not at all seem like a part of the international chain.

The first impression of the hotel is as a wornout property, desperately in need of a renovation. This is also similar in the rooms, that still seem to have the 90's decor remaining. On the plus, the rooms were clean and with all the expected amenities. Another positive was that the rooms were exceptionally quiet with a good bed.

The breakfast was extremely hectic due to the large amount of guests (caused by the bon jovi concert in town). Therefore, it was not a good experience with most items already out by 9 am. The great part was that all major international newspapers were available for free, which makes this hotel good for business guests.

Overall, with its close proximity to the Tampere expo centre, it is in a good location. Also, with its quiet neighborhood this hotel guarantees a peaceful stay when in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tampere, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear mikkomax,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the decor of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tampere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tampere

Address: Yliopistonkatu 44, Tampere 33100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
#6 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Tampere 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Tampere is a first class business hotel located conveniently in the city centre next to the Tampere Hall and the University of Tampere. The best shopping streets , theatres and sights are only a short walk away. Tampere is a lively cultural city that is surrounded by the beautiful Finnish nature. Cosy interiors, international-class comfort and excellent service ensure a pleasant stay for people travelling on business or for pleasure. All our rooms come with great beds, Pillow Menu, high speed internet access by ADSL or WLAN broadband connection, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Some of the rooms have a private sauna. Holiday Inn Tampere is fully non-smoking hotel . Tampere is easy to reach with direct flights from Helsinki, London, Stockholm, Riga, Frankfurt-Hahn, Milan or Bremen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Tampere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampere Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tampere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.