We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern, efficient business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tampere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Tampere to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tampere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yliopistonkatu 44, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
istanbul
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“modern, efficient business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

i stayed at the holiday inn tampere in september 2012 for a conference at the university of tampere, it turned out to be the perfect choice as it was only a few hundred meters to the university. all the main amenities for a business traveler was there, free wi-fi, business desk, comfortable room, coffee/tea facilities. dinner at the hotel was also more than satisfactory- no need to get out to look for decent food, the railway station was just behind the hotel making transportation in and out of tampere very easy. breakfast was ok. the bed had four different pillow options which was an interesting touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    45
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
26
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night because of a business trip. My single room in second floor faced inner yard so no street noise at all. The bed was very comfortable with different pillow options, the room had everything I needed for a decend stay. The breakfast was better than an average hotel breakfast, and the service in the reception was fast during both check-in and check-out. Some minor negative things that I noticed were a bad tv-signal in my room - basically there was no functioning tv because of the bad signal (not an issue for me because I had no time to watch tv but certainly a problem for many) and the service during evening dinner (not very warm, and also slow and the waitress made mistakes in the bill - the food was great). Without these two issues I would have given rating 5.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

To keep things in perspective, this is a business hotel and it is not fancy, but value for money, we were very comfortable here. Enjoyed having a private sauna in our (executive) room and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet has nice variety and seating in the atrium is cheerful and pleasant. Staff were very friendly and responsive to all our needs. Would recommend and stay here again. Walkable from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

To start on a positive note, staff is friendly and the Internet works well.

But even though I was upgraded to a business room as a frequent hotel chain guest, the room was gloomy and slightly depressing. Street noise and room temperature did not make for a good rest, and the beds are only so-so. Worse, there were lots of hairs stuck in the bathroom drain, and I would not want to guess where they came from - certainly not from me. The sauna is also a big disappointment.

For a place this price, the quality is not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tampere, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Koalyboy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I am pleased you mentioned our friendly staff service. However, we are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

good choice shower is very very good like all showers hotel in finland.a lot of water and warm.
could be cheaper.sauna free from 7 pm to 10 pm.good and fast free internet.free parking.breakfast is 20 euros.500 meters from city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed here a number of times since being converted from Ramada to Holiday Inn. The hotel has a great location with restaurant, gastropub, bus, markets, rail station all within easy walk of the hotel front door.

Hotel provides a traditional Finnish breakfast buffet that is above average in variety and quality.

The rooms are adequate, but if you are an elite PriorityClub, suggest you ask for a corner back suite with sauna. If not, do not worry, join PriorityClub on your visit and enjoy the evening sauna club on the upper floors, including jacuzzi tub and refresh/rest deck.

Bar and restaurant is above average but with large local choice I suggest you venture out for evening meal and drinks.

Room Tip: PriorityClub elite should ask for upgrade to suite with sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was adequate in size. The bed was comfortable for one, but possibly less so if travelling with a partner. The double bed had a quilt that barely covered the surface; let alone hang over the sides and bottom as it should. So if you toss and turn, the second person could be exposed!

The breakfast buffet offered a good choice. Wifi in the room was free. The location is about 500m from the university campus, and the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tampere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tampere

Address: Yliopistonkatu 44, Tampere 33100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
#5 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Tampere 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Tampere is a first class business hotel located conveniently in the city centre next to the Tampere Hall and the University of Tampere. The best shopping streets , theatres and sights are only a short walk away. Tampere is a lively cultural city that is surrounded by the beautiful Finnish nature. Cosy interiors, international-class comfort and excellent service ensure a pleasant stay for people travelling on business or for pleasure. All our rooms come with great beds, Pillow Menu, high speed internet access by ADSL or WLAN broadband connection, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Some of the rooms have a private sauna. Holiday Inn Tampere is fully non-smoking hotel . Tampere is easy to reach with direct flights from Helsinki, London, Stockholm, Riga, Frankfurt-Hahn, Milan or Bremen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Tampere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampere Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tampere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.