We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diverse topics presented in depth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vapriikin Museokeskus

Vapriikin Museokeskus
Veturiaukio 4, Tampere 33101, Finland
358 20 716 6966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Tampere
Attraction details
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Diverse topics presented in depth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This museum presented an array of quite diverse topics (the Finnish Revolution, shoes, hockey, innovation, natural history) but excelled at each. We read the entire English language handbook for the Revolution before entering the displays so what we saw made sense. Until then we had not understood the factions, the issues, the locations, etc.
The hockey section told about players, equipment, history of hockey in Finland, and key games. Natural history's dioramas and skeletons effectively showed Finland's wildlife. The innovation area told of their industries, innovations, companies, and technology. We especially liked the simulator where we loaded logs.
The shoe museum featured hundreds of shoes, past and present, and the equipment that makes them. The process was interesting to follow from a manufacturing standpoint as well as fashion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best museum in Tampere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Note that this is the same as "Vapriikki" here in Tripadvisor. Note that there is lots of discounts eg. Friday nights at 15—18 are free and with a "Veikkauskortti" all Wednesday.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice variety of exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went to see the mummy exhibition and to my slight disappointment, it was not nearly as extensive as I had expected. It was very interesting and informative, though, and our guide was really nice too.

I only took a quick look at the other exhibitions but they were interesting enough and I'm definitely going there to see them a bit more thoroughly another time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Number one attraction in Tampere - great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's not huge, but it is still a museum complex with some permanent exhibitions and visiting ones. In my opinion, it's a wonderful place, but again, it's up to you how much you are interested in the history of Tampere (that's the best part of the museum) or in ice hockey. In winter 2013 there were also small visiting exhibitions of Egyptian mummies, toys, Tampere innovations and birds. All exhibitions are extremely interesting, very interactive (your kids will love it) and well translated in English. I have been to several museums in Finland and Vapriikki is my favourite one - as I like hockey and history. Also very child and stroller-friendly facilities. Do not miss it, while you visit Tampere!

Of course, the best tip for tourists is that museum is FREE on Fridays at 15-18.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Vapriikki offers interesting exhibitions in nicely restored surroundings. Coffee shop is also good and during summertime, there is cool terrace next to the rapids.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapriikin Museokeskus also viewed

 
Tampere, Western Finland
 

Been to Vapriikin Museokeskus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapriikin Museokeskus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.