We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you want to have a look to trains from the sauna?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Rautatienkatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Rautatienkatu to your Saves list
Cumulus Rautatienkatu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rautatienkatu 21, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Lahti
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Do you want to have a look to trains from the sauna?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the most exciting experience I ever had. Trains going and coming to Tampere. Rooms were average and breakfast as well. And as everybody can draw an conclusion it is not far from the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Brand new hotel, so it's clean, everything is in order, but that's it. Very sterile, beds are not so good as you would expect. Sauna and lobby are very small. Receptions has a tendency to be crowded. Very ugly terrace chairs and tables. I think that the older Cumulus hotels with their faults are better than the new one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the first weekend of August, tempted by its newness factor. The hotel itself was OK, the rooms clean as you might expect. There was some stain on the corridor carpets which was a bit of surprise considering that it had just opened. Here is a short summary of the good and bad points:

The good things:
----------------------
- standard twin rooms with three choices for pillows (soft, medium and hard)
- great sound insulation. It is directly on top of the train station but you can't hear a thing.
- standard continental breakfast

the bad things:
--------------------
- they advertise their saunas quite a bit but it is pretty small and nothing special. It only fits max 4 people at a time (and that would even be a tight squeeze) and there are only two shower booths. Having a water cooler there with some disposable cups would also be nice.

- There are no glasses (or cups) in the standard room ( a "service" that you only get if you are staying in a superior room) not even in the bathroom for brushing your teeth.

All in all, I would say that it is a very mediocre business hotel, nothing fancy or special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were excited to stay a night in a brand new hotel!

- The newest Cumulus hotel was opened to Tampere, Finland on the 21st July, 2012. We stayed our night between 22nd to 23rd July, so it was the second night the hotel was used. According to the reception, we were the first ones to use the rooms given to us.


- Well, how was it then?

- The reception did not remember to take our address, nor any other contact information. We were not asked to sign anything, except the credit card charge. So, some additional training to staff might be useful and even needed.

- As you can expect, the rooms were nice and clean. The walls did not have any scratches and everything looked beautiful. Everything was new and fresh. Good. Our rooms were not to the street side and they were silent. So, we had a good night sleep.

- The breakfast was a standard Cumulus breakfast with a local speciality - the famous black sausage and lingonberry jam.
However, it was the breakfast which was the disappointment: The unpleasant surprise came with the hot tea water cooked with brand new Franke coffee system: The brand new Franke-machine - being used the second day - dosed metal particles into each cup of hot water we took from the machine! There had been already a plenty of people enjoying water or coffee from this system. When we complained this to the staff, they naturally switched off the system and called to coffee machine service.

But still you can imagine the feeling we had after understanding that the system actually dosed metal particles into tea water... The system should had been tested thoroughly at the hotel before taking it into usage!
The

Room Tip: Select room being not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Rautatienkatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Rautatienkatu

Address: Rautatienkatu 21, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Rautatienkatu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cumulus Rautatienkatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Rautatienkatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.