We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town for business travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Tampere Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Tampere Station to your Saves list
Scandic Tampere Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Tampere
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in town for business travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed in Scandic Tampere Station 4 times in 4 months. So far it has been the best hotel in town for a business traveler. Good location, quiet and clean rooms, very nice staff. Not too crowded either, mostly business travelers between Oct-Feb. Organic breakfast products, led & energy saving lights are a definite plus. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Ansku S,

Thank you for your stays at Scandic Tampere Station and you kind review.
We are really happy to hear that you have stayed with us several times and you grade us as the best hotel in Tampere. We promise to keep up the good service and our hotel prepared for your future visits!

Welcome soon again and happy Valtines Day!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    154
    31
    6
    0
See reviews for
60
81
19
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Location of the hotel is great,just behind the railway station nearly in the centre. The hotel is new,which shows with clean rooms and happy staff.
We had a standard room which was nice and roomy with boutique hotel style. Compared to older Scandic hotels, in Scandic Station you didn't even think that you're staying in a chain hotel. The hotel had personality.
Breakfast was good and as I mentioned the staff seemed enthusiastic and happy.
I'd be glad to stay in Scandic Station again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Elizabe,

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and you excellent review.
We are really happy to hear that you had nice time in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards on behalf of all team members,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friendly, smiling reception and dining
We arrived late (2230/1030 pm) but the kitchen was still open and able to server a good dinner
Rooms are clean and up to date
Frequent visitors gets vouchers for spending in bar, on films etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Akselschmidt,

Thank you for your stay and your kind review.
We are really happy that your visit was pleasant and we hope to see you soon again!

Enjoy the beatiful winter time!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip and I must say that it's a very good hotel with a perfect location.
The interior design differs a lot from all other Scandic-hotels which I have stayed at, since it has a very modern and stylish interior.

The rooms are very nice and the size of them is OK.

The gym was good with all equipment you need in order to perform a decent training pass.

Breakfast was good, containing most of the things you could ask for. The food in the restaurant was OK but the menu wasn't that exiting.
The prices are pretty high and I wouldn't have eaten there if it wasn't for the voucher received due to my Scandic membership.

The location is more or less as good as it can be. A three minutes walk brings you to the main street of Tampere where many restaurants
and shops are located.

Room Tip: Rooms far away from the elevators has a lack of Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Joky80,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our interior design.

We will install few more wlan base stations on this week for better wlan connection.

We hope to see you soon again and wish you a merry Christmas!

Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As expected a new hotel feels new and everything looks like almost never used. Parking in the hotel basement was very spacious and was a positive experience. Warm garage is a plus in Finnish winter weather! I had requested a quiet room when making the reservation and this was very well delivered in the 5th floor windows facing the railway station side. The room was good size in Finnish standards, white furniture accented with grey and pink - very nice to look at. For working needs there was a wall long table as well as wireless internet access. TV was a big LG flat screen. Bathroom is with shower and fixed soap dispensers as always in Scandic hotels.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was a bit on the expensive & small side i.e. the portion was fancy but not big enough for a hungry eater. Additionally one annoying manner is the waiter repeatedly returning to the table asking if all is good and if something more is needed - personally I prefer to let the staff know when I need something and all other times I should be left alone. Breakfast was served buffet style in the same restaurant. Quality of breakfast and the options were excellent and very nicely presented. All in all I will sure consider returning to this hotel because of the room and the breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Consider how silent room you need and ask in advance if that is a priority to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lumihiutale,

Thank you very much for you visit and you kind review.
We are happy to hear that you liked our interior design, service and breakfast.

Our Chef promised to look up the size of the portions, so those would be better size for you next visit, that we hope is very soon. So welcome again!

With best Christmas wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

like it very much, would advise, close to everything, train station, stores, buses, restaurants, bars etc... very good service from the staff, excellent English, clean. will come back for sure. In general, tampere is very lovely town with friendly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ntesting,

Thank you for your stay with us and your nice review.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyded your stay with us and overal in Tampere.

Best wishes from all our team members and welcome again!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel a couples of weeks after opening. The design of the lobby is a bit different with colorful items and areas, cool and trendy, but not cosy.
The stage at the reception upon arrival was very friendly and polite, but when I came back to the Hotel after work at night, the night receptionist didn't give me any attention although I had to walk right in front off her. I came with a car and had trouble to find parking place, hotels garage is extremely small and because of the scary area around the Hotel I parked right outside the main entrance. For a woman alone the area doesn't feel safe with a weird restaurant "Ugly" as a neighbour and dark back yard of the railway station on the other side. At night the noise from the people hanging outside of the restaurant made it hard to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the restaurant "Ugly"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Immuli,

Thank you for you stay with us and your review.
We are happy to hear that you liked our interior design.

We have 53 parking lots there, I´m sorry it was full during your stay.

Since opening, we have got new exterior lights to our hotel to light up the night time, and I´m sure that you could feel much more secure now even it´s dark. Hotel surroundigs is safe and peaceful area even we have couple of restaurants near by.

We hope to see you soon again, so you could see our new beautiful exterior lights!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.4 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Tammer
Solo Sokos Hotel Tammer
#3 of 27 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#4 of 27 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#12 of 27 in Tampere
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
1.5 mi away
Scandic Rosendahl
Scandic Rosendahl
#5 of 27 in Tampere
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere Station

Address: Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Tampere Station 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Tampere Station is a modern and trendy city hotel in the heart of Tampere. We offer a total of 200 spacious rooms, 5 of which have their own sauna and balcony and 12 which are accessible. On the ground floor, you'll find our relaxed and stylish bistro and lobby bar, Gym, sauna, Scandic Shop, the lovely summer teracce and 5 meeting rooms. We also offer a private car park with 53 spaces, as well as wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Scandic Tampere Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Tampere Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.