We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Tampere Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Tampere Station to your Saves list
Scandic Tampere Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Skanderborg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friendly, smiling reception and dining
We arrived late (2230/1030 pm) but the kitchen was still open and able to server a good dinner
Rooms are clean and up to date
Frequent visitors gets vouchers for spending in bar, on films etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Akselschmidt,

Thank you for your stay and your kind review.
We are really happy that your visit was pleasant and we hope to see you soon again!

Enjoy the beatiful winter time!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    110
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
46
10
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip and I must say that it's a very good hotel with a perfect location.
The interior design differs a lot from all other Scandic-hotels which I have stayed at, since it has a very modern and stylish interior.

The rooms are very nice and the size of them is OK.

The gym was good with all equipment you need in order to perform a decent training pass.

Breakfast was good, containing most of the things you could ask for. The food in the restaurant was OK but the menu wasn't that exiting.
The prices are pretty high and I wouldn't have eaten there if it wasn't for the voucher received due to my Scandic membership.

The location is more or less as good as it can be. A three minutes walk brings you to the main street of Tampere where many restaurants
and shops are located.

Room Tip: Rooms far away from the elevators has a lack of Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Joky80,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our interior design.

We will install few more wlan base stations on this week for better wlan connection.

We hope to see you soon again and wish you a merry Christmas!

Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As expected a new hotel feels new and everything looks like almost never used. Parking in the hotel basement was very spacious and was a positive experience. Warm garage is a plus in Finnish winter weather! I had requested a quiet room when making the reservation and this was very well delivered in the 5th floor windows facing the railway station side. The room was good size in Finnish standards, white furniture accented with grey and pink - very nice to look at. For working needs there was a wall long table as well as wireless internet access. TV was a big LG flat screen. Bathroom is with shower and fixed soap dispensers as always in Scandic hotels.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was a bit on the expensive & small side i.e. the portion was fancy but not big enough for a hungry eater. Additionally one annoying manner is the waiter repeatedly returning to the table asking if all is good and if something more is needed - personally I prefer to let the staff know when I need something and all other times I should be left alone. Breakfast was served buffet style in the same restaurant. Quality of breakfast and the options were excellent and very nicely presented. All in all I will sure consider returning to this hotel because of the room and the breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Consider how silent room you need and ask in advance if that is a priority to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lumihiutale,

Thank you very much for you visit and you kind review.
We are happy to hear that you liked our interior design, service and breakfast.

Our Chef promised to look up the size of the portions, so those would be better size for you next visit, that we hope is very soon. So welcome again!

With best Christmas wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

like it very much, would advise, close to everything, train station, stores, buses, restaurants, bars etc... very good service from the staff, excellent English, clean. will come back for sure. In general, tampere is very lovely town with friendly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ntesting,

Thank you for your stay with us and your nice review.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyded your stay with us and overal in Tampere.

Best wishes from all our team members and welcome again!

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel a couples of weeks after opening. The design of the lobby is a bit different with colorful items and areas, cool and trendy, but not cosy.
The stage at the reception upon arrival was very friendly and polite, but when I came back to the Hotel after work at night, the night receptionist didn't give me any attention although I had to walk right in front off her. I came with a car and had trouble to find parking place, hotels garage is extremely small and because of the scary area around the Hotel I parked right outside the main entrance. For a woman alone the area doesn't feel safe with a weird restaurant "Ugly" as a neighbour and dark back yard of the railway station on the other side. At night the noise from the people hanging outside of the restaurant made it hard to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the restaurant "Ugly"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Immuli,

Thank you for you stay with us and your review.
We are happy to hear that you liked our interior design.

We have 53 parking lots there, I´m sorry it was full during your stay.

Since opening, we have got new exterior lights to our hotel to light up the night time, and I´m sure that you could feel much more secure now even it´s dark. Hotel surroundigs is safe and peaceful area even we have couple of restaurants near by.

We hope to see you soon again, so you could see our new beautiful exterior lights!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very modern hotel close to Tampere center and railway station. Room was quite large with colorful deco. We liked the style very much. Breakfast was fine. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, and found it a good choice. One thing worth mentioning in our opinion is that even though the hotel is close to the center, it is on the other side of the railway station, so you have to walk through a tunnel to get to the center. Anyway, we would choose this hotel over Scandic City, that is on the center side of the tunnel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear JIL7,

Thank you for your stay with us and your kind review.
We hope to see you as our guest soon again!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night with a friend. One reason to book this hotel was just to check it out because it's new. The other reason was that my friend arrived by train and the location was perfect for that. I parked my car off the street because the garage was full but that was no problem for me.

Staff in the reception were extremely helpful and everything happened very quick. Wonderful!

- Hello, here is my Scandic card
- Hello, Mr. O, welcome! Here is the key card and the info. Need anything special or further info just now?
- No thanks, see you later

10 seconds later I was in the elevator. Nice! I had a standard room because I had so much plans that I felt not to invest for extra conveniences. The room was quite a small but in this case it didn't matter. There should be larger rooms with a view to the train station upper floors in case I'll stay in this hotel with my family. Although the childrens' corner seemed to be very small.

I had a nice pint of beer at the lobby bar while waiting for my friend. Very ultra modern place this hotel, too. But that's Scandic style. The breakfast was OK, somehow I felt disappointed considering the amount of choices. But perhaps there were just so many tables all around the restaurant that it was hard to see everything at one glance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Konsta O

Thank you for your stay with us and your review.
I´m really happy to hear that your were satisfied for our service.

We also have larger rooms in standard category, so please feel free to aks those for your next visit.

We look forward to see you as our guest in the future!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Tampere Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere Station

Address: Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Tampere Station 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Tampere Station is a modern and trendy city hotel in the heart of Tampere. We offer a total of 200 spacious rooms, 5 of which have their own sauna and balcony and 12 which are accessible. On the ground floor, you'll find our relaxed and stylish bistro and lobby bar, Gym, sauna, Scandic Shop, the lovely summer teracce and 5 meeting rooms. We also offer a private car park with 53 spaces, as well as wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Tampere Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Tampere Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.