We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu to your Saves list
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Koskikatu 5, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A nice and tidy hotel with superb location in the centre of Tampere. Be prepared to pay for parking though. If you cannot get your car in the hotel parking, you have to use the larger parking facility near hotel (cost 22 euro / day).

The hotel has very good conferencing facilities, and a lot of restaurants and night life near. Rooms are quite large, but sound proofing to the hallway is not very good. In conclusion, this hotel can be recommended if you want to stay in the center of the city.

Room Tip: I stayed at 305, and nothing bad to say. Only the sounds from hallway are quite loud inside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    44
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
27
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed in Cumulus Koskikatu several times but when I recently arrived I realised it is quite a while since I last stayed there. Hotel is located on a side street to main street in Tampere, not far from the railway station (four blocks away).

The lobby is quite small with a few sofas and open towards restaurant. Service is efficient and soon you are on the way up to your room.

I ordered a standard room but believe I had a slightly better class. Furniture were two single beds, a separate area with sofas, a good sized desk for working. Wifi included and a filled up minibar. Bathroom with shower in bath tub. Overall it is OK or maybe even nice but there is no WOW!! Design is not fantastic, odd or weired. Instead it is a bit cozy and almost a feeling of being in soemeones home.

Breakfast is served on ground floor in restaurant in connection to lobby. Great variety of choices, you get anything you expect to get in this place. Maybe the locally famous blood sausages are even a bit more than expected.

I have not used any other facility of hotel and cannot comment on that but overall I got what I expected in this place. There is no WOW!! but you get what you expect. I stay in hotels quite many nights per year and nowadays I prefer a good bed, close distance to breakfast and lobby more important than WOW!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here one night at December 2012 and it was business visit in Tampere. Hotel was clean ans staff was friendly. I really liked that the sauna was open until 10 pm, so I did not have to hurry from the business meetings and dinner. Location is really fantastic and due the price it is worth it really! Breakfast was really good and it was a shame that I had to hurry to morning meeting, so I had to eat fast ;) I could come here otherwise also for leisure and shopping maybe?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel is located in the city center, close to everything. Standard is ok, nothing spectacular, but what can you expect for 88EUR/night. Room was clean and there was even a small candy on the pillow. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January, The hotel is very well located in the town centre, so ideal from this point of view.

There is a cosy Bar / restaurant that I spent a few hours in as my return flight was very late in the evening, and they were kind enough to let me check out later than usual at 3pm, and I was able to hang around and work using the WIFI that is provided free. It was so cold and the pavements so icy that going anywhere else what not a viable option.

The coffee is jolly expensive at € 2.90 a cup with no free refills, even though it comes from a Self Service machine. Restaurant food was OK, nothing special, I had a pizza.

The room itself smelt of stale sweat, and this is probably because the heating was set to maximum, and I could find no way of controlling the temperature of my room, other than opening a window. - not ideal when it is minus 10 outside.

Otherwise the Hotel was generally acceptable, nothing to get excited about. Breakfast is usual Finnish buffet.

I would probably not come back to this hotel, there are plenty to choose in Tampere and the problem with the heating put me off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good central location, cleanbut quite small sized rooms. This place never disappoint us as we know what to except. Parking is 18eur per day in the hotel parking space (quite expensive to park on the street due to maximum times being so short).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a one night as a couple in the end of August.

The room was quite spacious with LCD-TV and a free WiFi. But that was all of it. Bathroom was extremely small.

Location was great: in the middle of Tampere city centre.

Breakfast was OK, everything you needed to get your day started but nothing extra or surprising.

Just a place to get your one night sleep - but no more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu

Address: Koskikatu 5, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu Tampere
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu Hotel Tampere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.