We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but small, hot and fusty room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Koskikatu 5, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Tampere
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good location but small, hot and fusty room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January, The hotel is very well located in the town centre, so ideal from this point of view.

There is a cosy Bar / restaurant that I spent a few hours in as my return flight was very late in the evening, and they were kind enough to let me check out later than usual at 3pm, and I was able to hang around and work using the WIFI that is provided free. It was so cold and the pavements so icy that going anywhere else what not a viable option.

The coffee is jolly expensive at € 2.90 a cup with no free refills, even though it comes from a Self Service machine. Restaurant food was OK, nothing special, I had a pizza.

The room itself smelt of stale sweat, and this is probably because the heating was set to maximum, and I could find no way of controlling the temperature of my room, other than opening a window. - not ideal when it is minus 10 outside.

Otherwise the Hotel was generally acceptable, nothing to get excited about. Breakfast is usual Finnish buffet.

I would probably not come back to this hotel, there are plenty to choose in Tampere and the problem with the heating put me off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    47
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
23
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good central location, cleanbut quite small sized rooms. This place never disappoint us as we know what to except. Parking is 18eur per day in the hotel parking space (quite expensive to park on the street due to maximum times being so short).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a one night as a couple in the end of August.

The room was quite spacious with LCD-TV and a free WiFi. But that was all of it. Bathroom was extremely small.

Location was great: in the middle of Tampere city centre.

Breakfast was OK, everything you needed to get your day started but nothing extra or surprising.

Just a place to get your one night sleep - but no more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Early November I stayed in this hotel for one night with my husband. It wasn't a great experience at all - hotel is located at a very restless area, and there was even a roadwork that started very loudly on Saturday morning at 8 a.m, so we didn't get much sleep. Also the room wasn't cleaned that well - there was dust on every table and shelf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in November 2012. Like mentioned earlier, this is a typical chain hotel. Nothing special but the basic things worked fine. Single room had enough space for a single traveller, but the room had double bed so apparently they sell these rooms also as double rooms and for two persons the room I stayed in would be small. Bed was ok, breakfast was ok, no problems but also nothing extraordinary. Parking space was very limited and the drinks in the bar were quite expensive. Still, no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korsholm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An average Cumulus-chain hotel in Tampere. Small room with standard equipment. I'm dissapointed about the fact that they didn't even have all Finland-national TVchannels. It's the small things that make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is very much what you would expect a Finnish mid-range chain hotel to bee. That is very basic but also good. The location is great! Right on the center of Tampere and not far from train station. They also have a swimming pool which is nice. The room where we stayed was a small double but good enough for one night. If you're staying longer you might want to consider a bigger room. The selves in the room were a bit dusty but besides that it was very clean. I would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu

Address: Koskikatu 5, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu Tampere
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu Hotel Tampere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.