We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why "villa"? But good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Villa to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sumeliuksenkatu 14, Tampere 33100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Europe
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Why "villa"? But good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

After arriving at the train station in Tampere, only a few minutes walk are required to reach Sokos Hotel Villa. From the outside (and from the inside) it is immediately clear: This is no villa. Actually, this is an old warehouse, transformed into a business hotel. No strings attached. Clean, efficient, straightforward. No mess. Friendly and professional staff, decent buffet breakfast - but not much else. For a few nights this is a good choice, well located and modern. But why does Sokos not provide a kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms? Why are rooms in the 6th floor so cramped? Why do all sorts of bread at breakfast taste the same? Maybe it is the business philosophy of Sokos that guest have to adapt to Sokos, not the other way round.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT in the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Jrondelle,

thank you for your review!

Word “Villa” has two meanings, depending on the language in which it viewed; in Finnish it means “wool” and in English it is villa. So I understand that it may cause confusion. The hotel is built into an old granary and ecology is readily seen in the use of sustainable natural materials, as wool. That’s why the name Villa (wool).

Unfortunately in our basic rooms we have no coffee making facilities, kettle and coffee/tea are found in our superior rooms and suites.

And considering the size of the rooms on the 6th floor, the hotel is a listed building, and all the rooms are different sized and shaped. And on the attic floor there is also a sloping roof, which contributes to reduce the size of the room. The next time do not hesitate to request a room on the different floor.

I'm sorry that breakfast did not meet the level of expectations; I’ll pass the feedback considering the taste of the bread to the breakfast staff. Breakfast will renew the future.

Have a great and sunny springtime, and we hope to see you as our guest near in the future. Warmly welcome!

Best regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
18
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The rooms are not too big but they are just throughout renovated and quit. Lobby and rooms are clean and staff friendly.

The only minus was breakfast that from an other planet than the hotel itself. It was served on a nearby outdated restaurant school. The selection was wide but made with a very low budget and/ or lacking imagination.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Uuno_turhapuro,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found our hotel cozy and liked it as a whole; our goal is to be like a second living room.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the breakfast. I will pass the feedback to the breakfast staff and the kitchen. For breakfast, we will develop in the future and it will renew, welcome to taste!

Have a great day, and we are hoping to see you as our guest near in the future, welcome!

Kind regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here one night. This was my second time and now the hotel was renovated. I really enjoyed my stay. Staff were polite, the room was very clean and nicely decorated.

Only couple things disturbed me a little bit. The window of my room was very very small. I stayed in 5th floor. Please check that you have a better view that I did. The breakfast was ok, with Finnish rye bread and such. And it was available till 10.30 on Sunday. One minus: orange juice was more like water.

Villa is very near the railway station, and the price is not bad. I will come here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jiitee,

Thank you for your kind review! Good to hear that your visit was great, and you enjoyed it!

Our hotel is an old granary, all the rooms are different shaped and sized; also the size of the windows is variable. On the highest floors the roof is oblique and low and the windows are small and triangle shaped. We also have rooms with a bigger window on the lower floors. Next time you’ll come; do not hesitate to ask a room with a bigger window.

Have a great and sunny springtime, and welcome again!

Best regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stay here every week and would not want to stay anywhere else in Tampere. The hotel is cozy and quiet, the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is nice, close to the railway station and city centre - everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself does not have a restaurant but there are several nice restaurants within 5 min walking distance. The breakfast is ok, but could vary every now and then - especially when it is maintained by a culinary school.
Definitely the hotel to stay at when you appreciate good service and a cozy & quiet athmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Riitta S,

I want to thank you for your kind review on a behalf of all our staff! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your visit from week to week at our hotel, it really warm the cockles of the heart.

Welcome again, have a great day!

With kind regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice rooms, close to city center, wonderful staff, free working wifi, next to small shopping center etc. Just one downside, they don't have any restaurant for lunch or dinner. No worries, same hotel chain is building a new tower hotel next to Villa, so that problem is going to be solved soon. That new hotel is going to be 25 floors high, so that's tower in Finland where buildings are usually quite low.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear armyofme,

Thank you for your nice words! Our main goal is to meet our guest’s expectations towards our hotel, and I’ll pass your nice feedback to our staff as well!

Yes, in mid-October 2014 Tornihotelli, the tower hotel, will be opened just next to our hotel. The tower hotel will be after the completion in 88.5-meter-long and 25-storey tower block, which will be Finland's tallest hotel. We look forward to the opportunities that it brings.

Great that you had a successful visit with us, and we are looking forward to see you as our guest also in the future!

Kind regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed only one night for business trip. Renovated small hotel at the city center, next to little mall. Very calm place to sleep, some of the rooms have interior window and the windows can be very small but the decor is new and modern. Scandinavian as it`s best. Breakfast is good, not exellent though. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Traveller12358,

Thank You for your review! We are delighted to hear that our decor is a sight for an eye! There are many beautiful details and focus points in our hotel, and Villa was actually ranked among the six best in an international Interior Design Awards 2011 competition in the hotel set.

Thank you for the feedback considering the breakfast. Breakfast will be to see some progress in the future.

We warmly welcome you to a new visit!

Best regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Reasons why this is a good hotel: location in the center, reasonable price for tourist/middle-class/business traveller, clean and cozy rooms and finally, succesfully done interior design. It is quiet at night, you can have a peaceful time reading or working and the wifi works like a charm. Little things like a design rocking chair make you feel comfortable. Out if the many nice hotels in Tampere, I think this one is the best as it appeals to my general taste.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear llaurila,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!
Welcome again!

With kind regards,
Johanna Veijalainen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Villa

Address: Sumeliuksenkatu 14, Tampere 33100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated and air conditioned Sokos Hotel Villa has opened!! Modern 6-story Hotel situated next to Tullintori Shopping Mall, in Tampere city center. Hotel is located in an old grain storage on the Tullintori square, will undergo a complete renovation except for the exterior walls. The renovation has brought a completely new design for the hotel's rooms, lobby and bar. The renovated hotel features an air conditioning system as well as renewed bathrooms and electrics. In July, the hotel will have three additional rooms, which brings the total number of rooms to 99. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.