We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in the whole country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pollowaari

Pollowaari
Yliopistonkatu 23, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
+358 14 333 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Jyvaskyla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, International, Scandinavian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the whole country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Pollowaari offers great, fresh food and a superb selection of wines. Service is first class and you will no be disappointed! I have dined here several times over the years, and the quality is very consistent and simply excellent!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant of the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We happened to be the only clients in the restaurant during a typical Wednesday lunchtime. That might've helped a bit on my excellent rating on service... However the staff told that this quietness was very unusual and there are enough clients to keep the restaurant running. And what a shame it would be to lose a gem like this - there most certainly aren't too many restaurants like this outside the few largest cities in Finland. We had a three course lunch, duck, lamb and coffee with handmade Finnish chocolate. Everything looked just as good as it tasted and altogether the menu was filling enough even my for hunger (no time for breakfast). A bit pricey yes, but well worth a visit when in Jyväskylä. Recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Marvelous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The place is very cute. Old style but charming. There were quite a few families with young children, for my surprise. I didn't think i would listen to children's cry in that kind of place (after all i was going for a romantic dinner with my husband to have a tiny break from our own kids). Luckily they left soon, and then the place looked more as i had imagined. Service was excellent! Waitress really knew about the wines and combination with the food we'd chosen.
The chef offered a delicatessen to us that was extremely delicious! The duck and pear or the goat cheese we ordered as appetizers were amazing, also the reindeer and the pike fish we ordered as main course. The cheese and jelly I got for desert was a perfect combination. I certainly recommend this restaurant. You will most certainly eat great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The absolute fine dining experience, and still getting better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Again I visited Pöllöwaari and I must write again about it. The restaurant is among the best in Finland and it is steadily improving. This is a must dine!

Service: is spotless, precise, discrete and not over formal. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Food: is showing a great mastering of technic, it is very original, always trying to find new flavour profile, new associations and always true to finnish culture. Example, we had lobster (very international protein, not Finnish at all) but it was prepared with cucumber (a classic of Finnish table) which is very uncommon for a French palate. It works perfectly and it displays a very Finnish aroma balance. This is the perfect example of the successful cooking of Pöllöwaari.

Wine: the wine list is perfect. Short but with every possibility. Everything is picked with great attention. So if you want a cheap wine, you can find a Markus Molitor, structured and complex riesling. If you want exclusive, you will find Bonneau du Martray Corton-Charlemagne 1991. But the greatest is that these exclusive wines are not even expensive. Pignan 2001 by Rayas is priced at 125€... which is a pretty good price for an excellent wine. Service of the wine is perfect: glassware, decanting technics and knowhow...

This is truly a great restaurant. Not so expensive considering the level (you can have a nice dinner for 75€, wine included). However, if you want to enjoy it fully, aim at a 100€-150€ budget per person, including wine.

No problem with a 4y-o child. The restaurant room is small, so it is very quiet and peaceful place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped here for lunch a couple of days ago. Very nice atmosphere, great service, delicious food beautifully served. Recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollowaari also viewed

Jyvaskyla, Western Finland
Jyvaskyla, Western Finland
 
Jyvaskyla, Western Finland
Jyvaskyla, Western Finland
 

Been to Pollowaari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollowaari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.