We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but too noisy and hot!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Lahti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Lahti to your Saves list
Scandic Lahti
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesiharvenkatu 1, Lahti 15100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lahti
Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice location but too noisy and hot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel's location is great when traveling, but I found my room quite noisy even tough it was on a fourth floor. Windows in the room seemed to be partly open? The room was also too hot and it's not even summer! The snoring man in the next room was the last straw for me. I felt like he was in the same room with me because the soundproof was so lousy. Never again.
Breakfast was the only highlight!

Room Tip: As high as possible and not facing to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
9
25
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kontiolahti, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed one night with my wife.
Room was in 3rd floor. Room was clean and good looking. Space was enought for two people. Bathroom was ok and towels were clean.
Breakfast was normal scandinavian and there was room to eat.
In restaurant you can get eating until 22.00. Prices were hight but that's normal hotel prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. The hotel is more basic than my typical experience with Scandics. Outdated and dingy. Feels almost dormitory like. Stuffy. Paid parking. Quite expensive for what is received. A plus: breakfast was good.

Overall it wasn't HORRIBLE for a night, but I would look elsewhere in future, particularly for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A really nice hotel, with a friendly atmosphere, that makes the best of its slightly older building style. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a really good size shower. There is a little gym for the health conscious and a reasonable menu for the evening meal, which has a good ix of international and Finnish dishes.

I really liked this one, standard for Scandic, very clean, very friendly, very Scandanavian, with a minimalist approach, but clean and very comfy. The bed was very restful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thankfully I spent only one night in this "hotel". I would have changed the hotel but I was too tired in the middle of the night to do so. I arrived late to the hotel and checked out as early as I could. The hotel was very outdated, poorly preserved and not up to Scandic standards in any way.

I checked in and went to my room. It was dirty in a way I have hardly seen traveling quite a bit in my life. There were stains on the doors and walls, the bathroom had someone´s hairs on the surfaces etc. On top of that a lampshade and controller of blinds were broken. The view was over the parking lot, the room was very tiny without proper sound isolation to the corridor.

I went back down and asked for a clean room. I was upgrated to a better room. Unfortunately hygienic or any other standards were not met here either. The second room was even dirtier than the first one. I was so furious that I took pictures of dirty mirrors, doors, class counters, walls, bathroom sink, bed, bathroom and shower area, you name it, and sent them with my complaints to the hotel manager. He answered back within two weeks, apologized on the behalf of the hotel and gave me coupons for another stay in Scandic hotels and cleaning service SOL (they obviously use this firm for cleaning). Case closed.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. Please, avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not much to say about the hotel, a standard Scandic hotel located in the outskirts of Lahti. Good, but a little cramped parking. Nice reception service, a good supply of groceries in the lobby and rooms with a good workplace. But boring room and simple bathroom, and the bed is not too good either. Biggest problem however : A very hot and uncomfortable room ( in May !), and not possible to open the windows! Also no air-conditioning. Fortunately; a service technician is always bringing the neccessary tools on how to unbolt a window ...
Good restaurant; Italian menu that was actually quite ok. Good and nice service as well, and good quality food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights on a business trip. It's a perfectly acceptable, but rather bland and basic business hotel.

The entrance to the hotel appeared to be in the corner of a car park. Inside there is a reception area which appears to double up as a small shop and bar area. The receptionist was friendly and efficient.

My room was clean and had all the facilities I required, but it was smaller than I would have anticipated in a modern business hotel. The bed was a good size and comfortable. The range of programmes on the TV was extremely limited.

One good feature of the hotel was the breakfast. The dining room is as bland as the rest of the hotel, but the breakfast buffet made a serious attempt to cater for all tastes, with a very wide selection available.

Overall the hotel met all my needs, but for the price I would have expected something more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Lahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lahti

Address: Vesiharvenkatu 1, Lahti 15100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Lahti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lahti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Lahti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Lahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Lahti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.