We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unconventional building for a chain hotel, but still VERY GOOD! (under renovation)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aleksanterinkatu 14, Lahti 15110, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lahti
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unconventional building for a chain hotel, but still VERY GOOD! (under renovation)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

well, lets get the not great part out of the way. The hotel is in a building with some other businesses and it is a little unconventional that the lobby is on the 5th floor. Also, because of the ongoing renovations there was not a restaurant in the hotel ans had to go across the street for the buffet breakfast. These things make you think this will not be a great stay, but they did not bother me at all... I just had to mention it so people know that it is going on.

After taking the elevator to the lobby, you are welcome with a very friendly staff. They had everything ready for my arrival already, so it took provably 60 to get to my room, which is very convenient if you arrive tired and want to rest. The staff changes often, but they were all as helpful and nice as the other ones... All in all great staff.

The rooms, mine was good size room for a single person, with a big comfortable bed, tv, mini bar, and all other standard things in a regular chain hotel. The shower was GREAT!, it was huge. The room was very clean and everything worked as expected. The rooms looked a little bit outdated, but well maintained. So, if you are looking for neon lights and new designer furniture you will not find it. Dont get me wrong, everything was in great condition, but just not brand new.

The location, I do not believe it gets any better than this. The hotel is in the very center of Lahti and had easy access to wherever I needed to go during the day and during the night.

I believe that once the renovations are done this hotel will only get better.

I was very happy with my stay here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
15
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a few nights with friends. Friendly reception and staff. Comfortable beds and nice shower. Room air conditioning made lots of noise but had no effect.

Food good quality from a buffet facility but the table service meals looked good also.

Garage parking difficult and access to hotel narrow.

Would I stay again - probably, especially as a full refurbishment is planned

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for a business trip. The rooms are clean and neat and just fine for 1 person. It was really busy in town while we were there at the end of november and a lot of locals get there vacation in that same weekend. On the other hand we were also lucky while next to hard working during the days it was really busy in all the clubs and restaurants and we learned a lot about the local habits....

Good place in the centre of the city, room for breakfast is a little bit small when all the rooms are taken and the local breakfast is a littble bit different then in Holland......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Selected hotel for position. However we realized immediately that from beginning was not a good choice. Garage was not very well segnalated . Once found garage underground we had to move with a lot of luggage. It was very complicated beacause way from garage to reception is long and plenty of up and down with stairs. Hotel is very old an need deep renovation. Especially in bar area. It looks Lso dirty. Breakfast is quite poor! We will choose another hotel next time

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is situated in the town centre, which is excellent. The hotel needs major investment in all areas. The family inconnecting room was very small and basic, we needed to chase house keeping for the room to be cleaned and new towels. The bar area is dirty and needs serious investment. The breakfast is very basic, I would only stay here again for its location as other hotels in Lahti are also very poor.

Room Tip: Consider renting a flat for a short stay, Some landlords will rent a flat/appointment for a few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is situated in the town centre. The single room was on the small side but it had a desk which makes it good enough for a short business trip. The furniture was modern and the room was clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was copious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with a great location in the middle of Lahti. Room looked refurbished recently and was very nice and modern. Beautiful shower and comfortable bed. It was a pleasure to stay there. The front desk employees for the most part spoke great English. A great benefit for a traveler was the full breakfast. I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone

Address: Aleksanterinkatu 14, Lahti 15110, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Lahti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lahti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, traditional modern high-rise hotel with restaurants set in city center, near the marketplace; close to Lake Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Lahti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.