We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER EVER had such a terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse

Boathouse
Liuskasaari, Helsinki 00140, Finland
358 9 5840 9603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #698 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $0 - $206
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Restaurant HSS Boathouse offers seasonal treats with flavours from the New World. Located in the island of Liuskasaari, in the coast of Helsinki, Boathouse is a place where it is always easy and fun to come and enjoy tasty a la carte meals with your friends. The restaurant has room to hold any functions from business meetings and summer weddings to delightfully traditional crayfish parties in Helsinki's archipelago.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER had such a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is a disaster! I have never walked out of a restaurant in my life, but when I did, two other tables followed. We were there for 45 minutes before they came by and asked if we wanted a drink---30 minutes later, they came back and asked for our order---30 minutes thereafter, they said our food will be arriving in another 45 minutes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went here for our wedding anniversary and loved it. One of the best seafood meals I've ever had hands down.

For a glass of wine, starters and main (+ boat fare) it came to around £90 but then everything (especially alcohol) in Finland costs more than your average joe kinda place.

Staff were really friendly, even giving us a complimentary drink when the main was (I must add only in their eyes) slightly late in arriving to the table.

Location was simply stunning, especially on a summer's evening when the sun sets, the sun deck out back is a must.

One last note: my wife is really bad with any form of travel on water and we nearly didn't go as it required a boat ride but we needn't have worried as it's only 1 minute, no really!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, great view, ok food, service with poor attitude, I wouldn't go there again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We tried the Lazy Sunday themed menu today but the beautiful view and settings couldn't make up for the poor service. The food was quite good but 81 Euros for water, fish of the day, a sallad and one coffee was pricey. Manager and the waitress did wouldn't give us a window table for one hour ... In the half empty restaurant with upstairs closed ... Instead of a slice of bread or a bun or some good carbs we got salt sticks and potato crisps. We left the restaurant hungry and a little upset. Instead, I would recommend the ice cream booth by the docks. Great ice cream with a smile .... :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ate here with a group on a business meeting. Great location, with boat trip over.
Really nice food, fish starter, reindeer & a stunning pudding. Okay wines and a nice cognac after.

Well cooked and presented food and nice staff, who were very good considering we were a large group.

Ate here a few years ago and well worth the return visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful location on beautiful summer evening - food & service mediocre.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Go there just to enjoy the location, the cliffs, the sea and the sunset, but don't expect much of the food or the wine. The food is not awful (you can eat it), but nothing to remember. You will not be asked if you'd like to taste the wine before they pour it. And the staff forgets to bring what they've been asked for - or even what they ask themselves, if you'd like to have with your dish: some mustard? - Yes, please... another glass of wine? - would be lovely, a glass of red, please... but no. Young and unexperienced they seem - young people should be given summer jobs, nothing against that! So if the day and evening is beautiful, the place is lovely! A very short boat trip takes you there and adds to the atmosphere and delight of the evening!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.