We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1930s building shame about the expensive and poor food and wine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ravintola Lasipalatsi

Ravintola Lasipalatsi
Mannerheimintie 22-24, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
020 7424 290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Description: The Lasipalatsi building was originally built in the 1930s to serve as a temporary bazaar. After years of glory and some years of degradation, Lasipalatsi underwent a complete renovation and reopened its doors last autumn. The architects restored the original funtionalist style of the building with pure white walls, large windows, interiors with warm colours and delighful little details. Neon lights on the wall outside have been characteristic of the building right from the beginning. Nowadays Lasipalatsi hosts a movie theatre, a library, a TV studio, a media centre, a restaurant and three cafés amongst others. The legendary Lasipalatsi restaurant is situated on the first floor of the Lasipalatsi building. The restaurant seats 250; it also has a bar, two cabinets, and a Winter Garden which is rufurnished to its 1930s style with live palm trees. The à la carte menu reveals Finnish traditions with fresh domestic raw materials, combined with international influences.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great 1930s building shame about the expensive and poor food and wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went for lunch and had a large soup at 15 euros that consisted of lots of solid potatoes a little sauce maybe an expresso cup's worth and a couple of pieces of overcooked salmon
mediocre wine at 16 euros per glass
grumpy service
Go in to view - have a coffee and leave would be my recommendation

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riihimäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Been there twice and the food is excellent.
Great location, nice atmosphere.
Quite expensive but you do get value for your money. It's not quite those fine dining places so the portions are big enough to fill you.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An excellent catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had read about the Helsinki menu, an excellent mission to showcase local food in Helsinki, in the hotel and had decided to try it on our second night. However, we were strolling around and stumbled upon Lasipalatsi - the Glass palace and this restaurant

First impressions were average, we walked into a large room which seemed far from palatial but once we were sat down then it felt comfortable. When we looked the menu we decided to move forward a day.

My friend chose the Helsinki menu but I decided to go for the Fisherman's. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Raw pickled salmon wiht creamed chanterelles were excellent and for a starter a good sized portion. The Crayfish soup was the highlight of the whole menu. Warming, creamy and richly flavoured it was exceptional.

Roasted pike perch was well cooked and meaty although I was unimpressed by the deep fried pike perch ball which was a little slimy but the blue mussel sauce complemented the dish well.

The Helsinki menu showcased local game and especially reindeer and was extremely good. It had no soup course but my friend joined me in the crayfish and was glad he did. .

Deserts were creative, a blackcurrant cheesecake was almost deconstucted but very tasty and the blackcurant tart probably even better.

Overall prices are not bad for Helsinki, around €55 for each menu and wine especially expensive although there was a good choice but it was well cooked and an enjoyable experience. Service, despite other comments on this site, was friendly and helpful.

Overall a very enjoyable taste of Helsinki.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

TAsty pastries and excelent coffee, also a bruch available. Also the athmosphire an the surrounding are part of the history of Helsinki, always a good alternative for a cup of cofee. In summer they have a nice sunny patio terass at the backside,recomend any time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Finnish restaurant with traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been in this restaurant a couple of times. Because we live nearby, we decided for the birthday of my husband to visit the restaurant once again. The food was still the winter menu with reindeer and mushrooms. We ordered 3 courses dinner with a bottle of wine. The price was little expensive for the quality/amount that the menu provided. The staff was not so friendly but this is quite typical in all the services in Finland. Most likely we will not come back again and rather try to explore another local restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Lasipalatsi also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Ravintola Lasipalatsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravintola Lasipalatsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.