We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kappeli

Kappeli
Etelaesplanadi 1, Helsinki 00130, Finland
010 76 63880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very nice and traditional restaurant -cafe near the harbor. The whole pavilion is made of glass, so you get to watch the city life while you eat or have your drink. During the dark winter months it looks amazing because it is lit beautifully with candles, very romantic. During the summer months they have a very nice outdoor terrace where they often have sparkling wine for a bargain price when bought by bottle. While enjoying your sparkling you can watch high quality music performances in the Esplanade park open air stage for free, organized by the municipality of Helsinki. This is a great place to go for a coffee, glass of wine or for a full meal as well. Few of my friends have organized their wedding here too. A must when in Helsinki.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    151
    66
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“A great place to take a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Kappeli has been around for a long time and is very centrally located on the Esplanad overlooking the park. If you are sitting outdoors you have a prime seat for any concerts that are happening in the park. Inside it is divided into two sections. One for fine dining and the other for lunch or quick snacks. Reasonable prices for Helsinki and they have decaf coffee and coffee refills are only 1 euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rude Service and Over Seasoned Food Not Acceptable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We would have spoiled ourselves with gorgeous dinner at Kappeli.
Kappeli is a restaurant located along a high street in Helsinki, where you can find well-known Finnish brand shops, such as Iittala, Aarikka, Pentik, and Marimekko.

Starter was soup of fresh water lobster, priced at 12.00 euro.
It tasted disastrously salty. I suspected that the chef really DID check the taste.

We also chose sirloin steak with mushed potato and grilled liver from main course menu. Unfortunately, the sauce did NOT match the steak. I thought this sauce would rather match a lightly seasoned fish meat. The grilled liver was not so bad. However, I might add, the sauce should have been simmered until more thickened.

Apart from anything else, most unfortunate is the disastrously bad service. For example, the tired-looking and forgetful staff service was NOT acceptable. In conclusion, I do not want to recommend this restaurant to my friends in many senses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I live in Helsinki and this restaurant is my absolute favorite! I always take the same dish, as it's sooooo good. But i've also tasted others meals as well and they've been delicious too! Lovely staff, great dish, beautiful venue and in the heart of Helsinki!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Great location for a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were strolling down Eteläesplanadi and realized we need a beer and something to eat
Decided to sit at Kappeli. Their cake was good, Service was friendly, athmosphere is perfect
If you are there try it out

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kappeli also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Kappeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kappeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.