We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK dinner at Viola in Radisson Blu Seaside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viola

Viola
Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
0201234707
Improve this listing
Ranked #380 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Villa Rica, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“OK dinner at Viola in Radisson Blu Seaside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a small dinner of a shared pizza and wine followed by dessert at Viola on our first night staying at the Radisson Blu Seaside. The pizza was fine, but the service was slow. That is the reason for the average rating. They were not busy, so we are not sure what the reason might have been. It was convenient after a long travel day and then some sightseeing, but there are enough other options near or on the tram line that we ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    20
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in the Radisson Blue seaside for 2 nights with our little boy. We ate in Viola both nights as it was so convenient for us and they are very child friendly. Great food and service. We loved both the lunch buffet and the afternoon deal between 3-5, it worked great for us with our little boy. He loved the play room there, such a great idea! I wish more restaurants were like that here in the UK! Thanks so much!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited Viola on a Friday evening. The service standard was excellent. Menu has a good variety of dishes, and reasonably priced. We had Antipasti Misti, Agnello (lamb tenderloin), Tagliata (beef sirloin), and Formaggi (cheese plate). It was all very well prepared and tasty. Good value for money. If you are staying at the Radisson Viola is definitely a good choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I usually avoid hotel restaurants but from time to time you want to give them a chance - and get positively surprised. Viola succeeds in creating a relaxed travellers' atmosphere - you have something for everyone - small and big tables, a sofa group to enjoy an aperitif or a whiskey and even a playing corner for kids.

The food served is Italian-inspired and it is actually tasty. The last time I visited the place, I had an perfectly grilled salmon with crayfish risotto, at previous times I've had sallads and asparagus for example and Iwas never disappointed. The vine list is good but a bit pricey - but hey- this is Scandinavia.. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our last meals in Europe an they were superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I recently spent only a short time (2 nights at the end September) at the Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel in which this restaurant is located. We arrived late afternoon and went to the restaurant because of convenience and we are very glad we made the choice.
We sat near the window looking out onto the street and the water views. We sat sipping our drinks and studying the menu before making our decisions on what to try.
From the moment we shared the “Bruschetta con Gamberoni’ (King prawn, tomato salsa, avocado salsa and salad ) to our mains of ‘Agnello ‘(Lamb fillet with rosemary and herb potato cake) and ‘Manzo al Pepe ’ (Beef fillet with pepper sauce and herb potato cake) we could not praise this food enough.
We had eaten our way across Europe over the last 30 days and we found this excellent food and a great atmosphere at the end of our journey.
Obviously we came back the second evening before flying back to Australia and tried different meals of ‘Manzo ben cotto’ (Overripe Chantarelle beef with sauce and herbed potato cake) and ‘Pollo’ (Fig-glazed corn-fed chicken with rosemary sauce and oven-roasted baked potato)
I am sorry that I had to spell out the menu but this food would rate in the top 3 of those we have eaten in, across Europe over the last month.
Thanks to all the staff…excellent food and not to be forgotten

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viola also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.