We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, nice room, service ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belge bar&bistro

Belge bar&bistro
Kluuvikatu 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)
010 76 63590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $29 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice room, service ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I had dinner here on a Sunday night in September. The bistro is upstairs from the bar, and the room had a good atmosphere even though there weren't many people in. The quality of the food was excellent - I'd highly recommend the lamb shank cooked in Belgian beer was one of the nicest lamb dishes I've ever had. The only thing that let the place down was the service. Whilst the staff who looked after us spoke good English and were polite, it sometimes took them a while to do things (e.g. clear our table when we had finished our meals). The service was also typically Finnish - don't expect a smile!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    65
    47
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“There is no place like Belge in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Drop by for a quick pint of Belgian beer, or spend some quality time in the dining section. This place is a one-of-a-kind and genuine experience in the heart of Helsinki. Enjoy the Tintin-themed menus and the delicious meals inspired from the best that Belgium has to offer. Service is great, and the atmosphere warm and cosy. Perfect for after work drinks, or a date. Be sure to arrive early; this Helsinki gem does not take any reservations!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food and good service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went with my friend to have a dinner at restaurant which is just in the center of Helsinki. We were quoying quite a moment and almost left the restaurant. Finally succeeded to get seats. The restaurant was rather occupied, personnel seemed to be busy. We ordered and got our foods. They were actually very good except the coffee which was undrinkable, The person serving us said that they are too busy, luckily didn't charge for the coffee. Anyway the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a brilliant place. Go upstairs and it's all decorated out like a library. Great, floor to ceiling, bookcases complete with books & ladders. Great atmosphere, friendly & pleasant English speaking staff. DJ plays pop music from a booth high up in the bookcases. We spent most of our evening in here. Very popular with small groups of locals. No trouble/hassles. Very calm & pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, nice selection of beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place in really nice. There are books on the walls and it makes you feel like you could go there ´just to sit and read the books. I have been there a couple of times to eat. The mussels are the best, with garlic and the Belgian fries. Yum! My friends like it because of the beer selection. There is a good enough wine list too. The service as I remember has been nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belge bar&bistro also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Belge bar&bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belge bar&bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.