We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russian food in Finland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue

Bellevue
Rahapajankatu 3, Helsinki 00160, Finland
09-179560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bellevue is the oldest Russian restaurant in Helsinki, founded in 1917 and has ever since been known for its good food and unique atmosphere. The old and valuable paintings, chairs and chandeliers take you back to the days of the Czar. The authentic Russian atmosphere is completed by classical Russian music in the background. Also the menu brings old Russian cuisine to you. The chefs are flexible and highly professional, so if one of your favorite classic Russian dishes is not on the menu, it is always worthwhile asking for it. There are also three private rooms in the restaurants.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Russian food in Finland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

As it's very hard to find Russina resutrants i Stockholm/Oslo we always try to eat russian when in Helsinki. Found this restaurant on the net and we are very pleased with what we got. Bellevue is a classic in Helsinki and the food was really good with steady portions. Both starters and main course were excelent. the suggested wine and (vodka) were very good for the food served. the "Tar" Icecream desert was really good. Staff was very professional and helpfull.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sverige
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent russian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We always visit Bellevue once when in Helsinki and the restaurant continue to deliver very good food and service. This time we had Borstij soup, next Blinis and after that Chicken Kiev and Cabbage rools. Everything excellent cooked and in large portions. When you are done, you are really full. This time we experienced the service level at Bellevue when we had a misinterpretation with our server and we got a more expensive wine than we ordered. No questions asked, the bill was promptly changed in our favour. Outstanding food and service will get us back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Helsinki Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent service and food. We arrived at 10pm being the only clients but we were greeted with great attention and good mooded staff, something hard to find when you arrive for dinner so late.
We had the caviar (why not??) and the season salad for starters and a stroganoff and white fish for main course. All of the dishes were made fresh, beautifully presented and above all, delicious!
We tottaly recomend it as a non toutist trap dinner option.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice zakuska buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tried Saturday Zakuska buffet this time. Almost all the items they have on the menu, really enjoyed the fishes and cabbage pie!

Unfortunately they didn’t take foreign credit cards on that day so I was almost in a trouble…

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok, but nothing to remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there for a business lunch, and the place was sort of half-full. The service was very slow, although friendly, but with a hint of arrogance. The borsts soup was great, but only luke warm. The cucumbers with honey and sour cream great as well. The main course (Chicken Kiev) was ok, but also only luke warm. I didn't take the dessert, but an cappucino. That was...you guessed it...luke warm and watery. Maybe the temperature of the food had something to do with the speed of the service!? All in all, I wouldn't reccomend the place, even if there are PLENTY of worse places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellevue also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.