We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strindberg

Strindberg
Pohjoisesplanadi 33, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)
+3589681 2030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,009 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
Wiesbaden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Feeling like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The place was really comfortable and welcoming, I loved the way everything was positioned and the view that we had on Esplanadi, the nicest street in Helsinki. The food was great and very tasty, but I have to admit that I did not expect to pay 4.90Euros for an espresso and 4 Euros for 1/4 bottle of water. This was very disappointing for me, because I know the real value of the things that were served and the bill was much more expensive than expected. However, I loved the atmosphere and the service, so next time I will probably manage better my decisions!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    67
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect decor and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had dinner at this restaurant last Tuesday. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. I had fish and it was jsut perfect. The wine selection is very good and the service friendly and attentive.
From start to the end nothing to complain! A great location after having been downtown, you will love the decor.
Don't miss the dessert!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pafos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant waiter, food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Been there on a weeknight. There were two waiters (one about 50 years old, smaller, Italian looking and a Finnish guy, around 30, taller) Both ignored me even though it was not busy. They looked unfriendly when I approached them and did not ask how they could help me.

This might be a common behavior in some high class French restaurant in Paris - for Finland it is uncommon.

The food we had was good, though - no complains there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Even the new one is great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Some years ago, my then-employer had an office upstairs from the "old" Strindberg, and I used to visit several times a year. We spent a lot of time in the cafe and went to the restaurant regularly. Both were terrific. I viewed the renovation/relocation of the "old" Strindberg with some concern. I am happy to report they did a terrific job. The cafe, while not quite the same, is still a great place, in a terrific location. A nice place to meet someone for coffee or a drink, sit and read, etc. And the upstairs restaurant is very, very good, with a nice view of the Esplanade. You won't go wrong visiting either of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere restaurant with nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First floor traditional style restaurant with nice food at reasonable prices for Scandanavia. Especially enjoyed the crayfish Caesar salad as a main - very tasty large portion.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strindberg also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Strindberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strindberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.