We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manic atmosphere, good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Bamboo Center

New Bamboo Center
Annankatu 29, Helsinki, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
09-6943117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manic atmosphere, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This small restaurant is liked by many young people because its modest prices and tasty food. Some dislike the small little manic lady spurting around but some of us love her! Regrettably, no wine or beer can be ordered. The surroundings are not too elegant but perhaps because of this it is easy to hop in to have a meal. Good price/money-ratio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dessau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like the food, love the atmosphere :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's a small and busy chinese restaurant. The food is good, but most of all we always love the atmosphere in the restaurant. The staff is very friendly and helpful and just makes you feel welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best curry tofu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Probably the best curry tofu in Finland. A word of warning though: if you love spicy food "medium" is probably hot enough for you. At least it's hot enough to make me cry throughout the meal... Most people choose "mild" and it's still hotter than most curry you get in Europe.

Also, don't expect fine-dining atmosphere. It's a very down-to-earth eatery. The owners are a fabulous bunch though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“There are better places in Helsinki”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I didn't mind the loud waiter or the chaotic service, but I did mind paying extra for an extra portion of rice we said we didn't need, I also mind paying extra to take away the left overs. Food was ok, not really bad but not great either. Probably won't eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta Europe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Compared with restaurants in Helsinki, the Bamboo Center has very good prices and quite good food. We happened to find it on our last day there so we would have visited again. I didn't like the smell that lingered on our clothes though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bamboo Center also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to New Bamboo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Bamboo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.