We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olo Ravintola

Olo Ravintola
Pohjoisesplanadi 5, Helsinki, Finland
+358 10 3206250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,010 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $48 - $167
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Olo treats you to a gastronomic journey filled with Nordic influence. It's all about the best ingredients and clear, modern flavors. Naturally wine plays an integral part in the dining experience. Our cellars are filled with interesting wines, including wines that are exclusively available at Olo. In our restaurant, you can feel the passion for work and food. Everyone in Olo shares that same feeling - love for food. That love and genuine warmth we want you also to feel as our guest. In addition to our recognition in the Michelin Guide with one star since 2011, we have also been featured on the 50 Best Restaurants -listing in Finland, on which in 2012 we were awarded with the first place. Welcome to enjoy!
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ate here a week ago, and it was the best experience so far in Helsinki, or for any place else for that matter. We ate the chef's surprise menu for 59 euros each, which was fantastic. Will eat here again for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    43
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Scandinavian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This review is for the food only (we chose the premium wine menu to go with the surprise menu, but the price was extortionate for what was served). We had the 4 course surprise menu (52 €, available on Saturdays only) that included four extra courses, so it ended up being an 8 course menu degustasion. Worth every Euro and cent. Olo has a Michelin star, but the atmosphere relaxed and unpretentious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great molecular food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

They have degustation menu, shorter and longer with option to combine it with standard or premium wines.
Food was excellent, wines (tasted premium) good and service not that competent (waitress was not able to explain difference between standard and premium wine options). But overall still a very good dining I would recommend especially because of food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We dined here on Friday and had the appr. 68-78 € menu. By far the best restaurant experience in many years, even though we eat out often. Everything tasted and looked fantastic, the food was interesting and innovative, flavours were excellent, and the service was very friendly and professional. Nice bonus was to get some of the dishes served personally by the owner, Pekka Terävä. He seems very passionate about his food which you can taste on the plate!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Posh food served in a relaxed way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. We booked to visit Olo whilst our cruise stopped in Helsinki. Firstly the location is great. If you're walking to the main shopping area or harbour market from the cruise ship drop off point you walk almost straight past it. We checked where it was a couple hours before we were due to eat and the owner caught us stealing a glance at the menu. He came our, greeted us warmly and knew who we were (spooky!). What a nice guy. As for the food... well I'm surprised we even saw what it looked like: our eyes were closed from enjoyment most of the time! It looked clean, innovative and very interesting. (An odd description but how often can you say you were interested in the way your dinner looked?) The taste was just wonderful. The flavour pairings were perfect. We went for lunch and despite the limited menu we weren't disappointed. I often think a small menu is the sign of a good restaurant. To top it all off the owner even gave us a copy of their recipe book, a big glossy hardback, and congratulated us on our honeymoon. How nice is that?
If you want a cool place to go with posh food, choose Olo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olo Ravintola also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Olo Ravintola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olo Ravintola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.