We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big servings of good finnish food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse

Sea Horse
Kaptensgatan, Helsinki 00140, Finland
09 628 169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,066 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $43
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big servings of good finnish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service was good and the staff spoke good english. We wanted typical Finnish food, which was very down to earth (meatballs, herring, steak) and filling nothing overly fancy. Probably could have had two meals between the three of us. Good value for Helsinki.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    210
    63
    23
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Experience from 1968 and still improving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is one of the few restaurants in Helsinki which keeps improving without making any changes. Since my first visit in 1968 the clients have got younger and service more respectful. Sea Horse “Sikala” in Finnish is an elitist joint where one easily feels forlorn during first drink. Just wait and sit calmly and see. Though not one of the closest restaurants anymore, I still pay the annual visit to meet my friends of the detective society of Mauri Sariola in the cabinet. Finns are infamous for their rude service but definitely not there. I was touched how the charming waiter knew that it was double Ballantines, lots of ice and a dash of soda for starters though I visit only twice a year presently. Her smile was as real as only Finns can do.
For a less frequent visitor, I recommend a table reservation for peak times. The kitchen is excellent and anything is made exactly to the order. I recommend the classics like Wiener Schnitzel or Vorschmack. The service too is of the best Finnish standards, considerate but not intrusive, more like to a good friend. The portions of are of a good size for their price of around 20+ Euros.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Genuine restaurant atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is very cozy restaurant, intended for both serious drinkers and healthy appetites. The main room is true to the 1930s style. The menu includes traditional fare. The doorman's welcome is warm. There are many regular customers, whose drinking habits can be quite noisy in late hours. The restaurant seems to appear in several tourist guides. I just wonder, if foreigners will ever catch the true spirit and be able to appreciate genuine Finnish restaurant environment that is more and more difficult to find. For regulars it still remains a safe haven to land early or late.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a nice place to go 'Finnish food'. The place is comfortable, even though it is a little fancier. The food was delicious and portions were good. For a nicer restaurant with high quality food the prices are in no way outrageous and are in fact quite reasonable. I was here with a group of colleagues before Christmas and it worked out well. It would also be good for couples/friends. I had a really excellent steak (cooked properly!), and delicious pancakes for dessert. Recommended for what it is. My only complaint was that there was a mandatory coat check for 2 euros... Very strange for a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“takes yo back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I really like the atmosphere of this restaurant! It feels like stepping back into the 1930s. Also, the service is good and friendly and the food is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Horse also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Sea Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.