We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thali dishes tasted very bad and staff was disrespectful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Annapurna

Annapurna
Fredrikinkatu 23, Helsinki, Finland
Improve this listing
Ranked #473 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Nepali
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thali dishes tasted very bad and staff was disrespectful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ordered 2 thali dishes for to go. Food was flavourless and tasted very bad! Stewed lentils tasted more like butter-cream than lentils. Cottage cheese in cashew nuts-coconut-tomato-cream sauce was really bad: Tomato sauce tasted like from the can concentrated tomato. We couldn't find any cashew nuts-coconut taste in it. The fried okra and potatoes were ok but greasy. There was even one okra which was rotten. Naan bread was burned. One member of the staff was sitting behind very close to the restaurant desk and harassing my girlfriend: he stared at her continuously! This food was not really to enjoy, so we threw it. Food price is expensive above all its quality is very bad!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Yes, this actually was one of the best meals we had in an ethnic restaurant. Big portions: naan, raita, salad and rice included. Good choice of vegetarian dishes.Spicy was actually spicy! We loved the music!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Tasty and big portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a quick meal, we dif not have much time before our next activity.... service was quick and friendly and the two vegetarian meals we ordered were very tasty and spicy as we asked. Every main course comes with rice, naan, salad, yougurt and lentils soup... yummy.

I would definitely recommend the place and will go there again with same and other friends. Price very affordable....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Taste of Nepal in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

One year ago I visited Nepal with my wife. We were very happy when finding the same authentic athmosphere in a restaurant in our home country. Service and food was very good, also Nepalese bear was served.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food with reasonable cost, not for those longing for luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Getting your longing for Indian/Nepalese food medicated here would not be a bad idea at all. The location is good and even better if you are wandering around the city doing some serious shopping. This place is surrounded by little shops you can't find anywhere else.

The food is great and can well be compared with that of Aangan and Mount Everest (at Luotsikatu). The premises may not be luxury and if you are looking for a romantic dinner, you will need to work yourself just a little bit. But the waiters are lovely and polite and like I said, the food is worth trying, if your date doesn't appreciate it, move on to next.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annapurna also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapurna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.