We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT

LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT
Annankatu 22, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
09-645 550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It's pure traditional fine food in Helsinki I luv it! You pay for quality and good taste, service is great worth paying a visit here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    141
    48
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lappish game selection for two :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked Lappi as a Valentine's Day treat and we were not disappointed. We chose to have a main meal and a dessert only, accompanied by a glass of champagne. Of course we wanted to try reindeer (a little guilty) and there was elk on offer too so we decided to go for 'Lappish game selection for two'. My absolutely favourite of the selection was reindeer sausage, smoked and flavoursome. My least favourite was the roasted elk as it came very rare, but my husband decided that this was his favourite. As a dessert I had the 'Lappish farm cheese in cinnamon cream' and my husband chose 'Blueberry mousse'. My dessert was different for sure, and it is Lappish speciality so I would recommend trying it. The blueberry mousse was delicious. We really enjoyed our evening at Lappi and would highly recommend it, although make sure you book it as it gets really busy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lapland in a flat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First time in Helsinki and interested in local food. Lappi announces itself as such, but this really is a tourist restaurant, the kind organized group visits seem to prefer. I would not call it a trap though, because the food was OK and prices reasonable in this very expensive city. But it is as authentic as a plastic rose. Expect a wooden block hut build into an anonymous concrete building, food served on a wooden plate and waiters dressed in ‘authentic’ clothing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my friend, who recommended the place. The place is decorated warmly as a cottage, and the service is very friendly. Though the food was good, I find the place targeted for tourists who are willing to try northern specialities, and as such, overprized. It is a great place if you are looking for trying reindeer or moose meat, and in overall it is a very nice place to dine.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A superb fusion of food, service and ambience - can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hospitality service is a challenge in Scandinavian countries for many socio-economic and cultural reasons, so that probably influenced that "magical feeling" from the moment I was greeted and seated at my table at Lappi restaurant.

But even on a world-scale, the service was attentive, warm, friendly and "just right".

The cuisine was amazing and it was a challenge when deciding from the menu "what not to order". I asked my colleague what she was thinking of ordering, so that we wouldn't double up and could sample each other's selection.

It's not often you have a truly amazing hospitality experience, but Lappi restaurant are highly recommended as such.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.