We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT

LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT
Annankatu 22, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
09-645 550
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,009 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a nice place to taste real local food. Tasty, big helpings, friendly service. Had to wait a bit at the bar/entrance area.
It was a bit dark but I think it is part of decor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    123
    43
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Traditional Finnish cuisine restaurant~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

They serve most traditional dishes, the dining environment is traditional too! The interior design and decoration is very unique that you can feel you are in Finland!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unique food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recommend this restaurant for travelers looking for a taste of Lapland and something unique. The restaurant interior is very well done, you almost feel like you are sitting in a cabin in a remote area of Lapland. The food quality is excellent, we chose a sampling of meat dishes, all of which were very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall, pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is definitely purely a tourist place but a pretty good one. It is very cozy and cute inside and the service was excellent. My husband and i tried their Venla wine which we both liked. For an appetizer we got the mushroom soup and the salmon which were both were excellent. For the main course we got the meat selection for two and we were a bit disappointed as we did not care for the reindeer meat. The desserts were phenomenal though and made up for the main course. Overall, i would definitely recommend it and would come back myself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“That was some great reindeer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for a take on Finnish food, as I was, I can strongly recommend Lappi. The setting itself is comfortable and relaxing - a feel of Finland in the décor.

However, the key reason to go is for the food. I had the salad with dried reindeer, which was very tasty, but the flank of reindeer was mouth watering - a strong recommendation there.

I also had a "traditional" dessert - which is the cheese with cinnamon cream sauce. It was good and unusual, but a bit rich after the meal I had.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAPPI RAVINTOLA - LAPPI RESTAURANT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.