We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge beer bar - food could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sports Academy

Sports Academy
Kaivokatu 8 | 00100, Helsinki, Finland (Vironniemi)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #535 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
Fuerteventura
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Huge beer bar - food could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We popped into this place for lunch and a chat because it was so convenient for Central Station. It was a very large beer bar, with a number of separate sections, some empty and what seemed like thousands of television screens. As a result it obviously lacked atmosphere.

I started off with a coffee which was dire – I am not sure that I detected a coffee taste. The salad, which I think was 18 Euros, was very basic though quite tasty due to the balsamic vinegar. There were a reasonable amount of prawns, some narrow strips of pineapple and a few chunks of melon. At the bottom was some strange, very salty crouton like things. The amount green salad was very meagre. At the very least the salad should have been accompanied by some French Fries or bread.

I cannot fault the service which was quite attentive.

One positive – I did see the Champions League semi-final draw while having a pee in the toilet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    16
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was surprised by the quality of the food in this place, considering the atmosphere and price. The food was great and the atmosphere was relaxed. I would definitely come here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special or not even average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was my first time lunch-visit there. Menu and pricing looked ok, but the place was almost empty at midday. Service was normal. Salad table was ok but selection narrow. Bred was a way too dry. We ordered three hamburgers with french fries. None of us needed to say anything about that meal. It was very dry and tasteless! This kind of food is underrating customers! Do I need to tell you more. No.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sports and food for us boys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

They serve lunch and such during daytime, and you can watch either music videos or sports while sitting there with other boys. Ok there's some ladies as well, but it is more like bar with a grill anyways.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre chain restaurant with nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good location right opposite train station. If you like sports, you probably feel comfortable here. Lots of live sports coming on screen. On match days there's usually lots of people. I have visited there many times during last years. Beer is expensive even on finnish standards. Food is usually good, but ain't nothins special. Actually I think quality of burgers has dropped but price has got up :( The quality of service varies a lot.
If you wanna eat while watching sports, this is good choice, otherwise I would choose some other place for dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sports Academy also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Sports Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sports Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.